Skip to content

Mohamed Elshorbagy lifts the 2015 Tournament of Champions title

Tournament of Champions: A History


The 2016 instalment of the prestigious J.P. Morgan Tournament of Champions sees the world’s greatest players descend on the iconic Grand Central Terminal in New York once more with the event set to get the year off to a bang on Thursday January 7.

First held in 1930 as a Men’s only event and named the US Professional Championships, the Tournament of Champions has developed into one of the most recognisable events on the PSA World Tour and has featured a multitude of famous winners in the 86 years since its inception.

United States player Jack Summers claimed the first title in 1930, the first of four that he would eventually go on to win before the event was renamed to the Tournament of Champions in 1993, with the legendary Jansher Khan being the maiden winner of the event in its current guise.

A variety of other famous names have also had their hands on one of the most coveted titles on the PSA World Tour, including Jahangir Khan, Amr Shabana, Peter Nicol and Jonathon Power amongst others.

The event debuted at the Winter Garden in the World Financial Center in 1991 before making its home at the Vanderbilt Hall in Grand Central Terminal in 1995 where it has been ever since, save for disruptions in 1996, where it was held at the Heights Casino in Brooklyn, 1997 and 1998 due to renovations to Grand Central Terminal.

A Women’s event would then begin in 2001 with Australia’s Sarah Fitz-Gerald overcoming former World Champion Vanessa Atkinson in a climactic finale. Atkinson would go on to lift back-to-back Tournament of Champions titles in 2005 and 2006, joining Fitz-Gerald and later Natalie Grainger and Natalie Grinham as the only women to have captured two “ToC’ crowns.

World No.1 Mohamed Elshorbagy claimed his maiden Tournament of Champions title last year with victory over 2012 winner Nick Matthew in the Men’s event while the Women’s event saw Raneem El Welily have the distinction of having her name etched on to the famous trophy thanks to a virtuoso performance against England’s Alison Waters in the final.

This year’s iteration of the Tournament of Champions becomes the third PSA World Series event inside the last three years to offer equal prize money across both the Men’s and Women’s events – reaffirming its status as one of the most pioneering events on the PSA World Tour.

Previous Winners – Men (Tournament of Champions Only)
2015 Mohamed Elshorbagy (EGY)
2014 Amr Shabana (EGY)
2013 Ramy Ashour (EGY)
2012 Nick Matthew (ENG)
2011 Ramy Ashour (EGY)
2010 James Willstrop (ENG)
2009 Grégory Gaultier (FRA)
2008 Ramy Ashour (EGY)
2007 Amr Shabana (EGY)
2006 Amr Shabana (EGY)
2005 Anthony Ricketts (AUS)
2004 Peter Nicol (ENG)
2003 Peter Nicol (ENG)
2002 Jonathon Power (CAN)
2001 Peter Nicol (ENG)
2000 Jonathon Power (CAN)
1999 Jonathon Power (CAN)
1998 No competition
1997 No competition
1996 Jonathon Power (CAN)
1995 Jansher Khan (PAK)
1994 Rodney Eyles (AUS)
1993 Jansher Khan (PAK)

Previous Winners – Women
2015 Raneem El Welily (EGY)
2014 Nicol David (MAS)
2013 Natalie Grinham (NED)
2012 Natalie Grinham (NED)
2011 No competition
2010 No competition
2009 No competition
2008 Natalie Grainger (USA)
2007 Natalie Grainger (USA)
2006 Vanessa Atkinson (NED)
2005 Vanessa Atkinson (NED)
2004 No competition
2003 Carol Owens (NZL)
2002 Sarah Fitz-Gerald (AUS)
2001 Sarah Fitz-Gerald (AUS)

Watch our mouthwatering preview of the upcoming Tournament of Champions below

  • Watch live action of the J.P. Morgan Tournament of Champions live on SQUASHTV from Thursday January 7 – Thursday January 14. Click here to subscribe
Join SQUASHTV and get closer to the PSA World Tour