Skip to content

The stunning setting of Grand Central Terminal

TOC Update: Metwally Downs Top Seeded Hansen In TOC Quals

Egyptian Mariam Metwally overcame a gap of almost 30 places on the PSA World Rankings to produce the biggest upset of the tournament so far as she defeated top seeded Line Hansen 3-0 in the final round of qualification in the 2016 Women’s J.P. Morgan Tournament of Champions to secure a coveted berth in the main draw of the PSA World Series tournament.

Metwally played with aplomb as she dominated the scoreboard, coming through 11-5,11-4,11-8, and will now face in the first round of the tournament which offers parity in prize money between the men and women for the first time in its history.

The 19-year-old was joined in the main draw by fellow surprise victory Deon Saffrey of Wales, who defeated South African Siyoli Waters after a gripping five-game encounter, and American Olivia Blatchford who joins compatriot Amanda Sobhy in the main draw of the event in which both with be hoping to delight a partisan home-crowd in New York.

Results – J.P. Morgan Tournament of Champions – Women’s Final Round Qualifying
[11] Mariam Metwally (EGY) bt [1] Line Hansen (DEN) 3-0: 11-5,11-4,11-8
[7] Olivia Blatchford (USA) bt [13] Hollie Naughton (CAN) 3-0: 11-7 11-5 11-8
[10] Deon Saffery (WAL) bt [5] Siyoli Waters (RSA) 3-2: 7-11, 11-5, 9-11, 11-7, 11-8
[3] Yathreb Adel (EGY) bt [15] Cheyna Tucker (RSA) 3-0: 11-3, 11-6, 11-4
[4] Samantha Teran (MEX) bt [12] Fiona Moverley (ENG) 3-0: 11-9,11-6,11-8,
[6] Misaki Kobayashi (JPN) bt [14] Nikki Todd (CAN) 3-1: 11-6, 5-11, 11-5, 11-4
[8] Coline Aumard (FRA) bt [16] Sina Wall (GER) 3-0: 11-9, 11-6, 11-6
[2] Tesni Evans (WAL) bt [9] Amanda Landers-Murphy (NZL) 3-0: 11-9, 12-10, 11-6,

Draw – J.P. Morgan Tournament of Champions – Women’s First Round
[1] Raneem El Welily (EGY) v [Q] Tesni Evans (WAL)
[Q] Deon Saffery (WAL) v [10] Amanda Sobhy (USA)
[14] Delia Arnold (MAS) v Rachael Grinham (AUS)
Jenny Duncalf (ENG) v [6] Alison Waters (ENG)
[8] Nouran Gohar (EGY) v [Q] Yathreb Adel (EGY)
Heba El Torky (EGY) v [12] Joelle King (NZL)
[11] Sarah-Jane Perry (ENG) v [Q] Coline Aumard (FRA)
[Q] Olivia Blatchford (USA) v [3] Laura Massaro (ENG)
[4] Camille Serme (FRA) v Donna Urquhart (AUS)
[Q] Misaki Kobayashi (JPN) v [16] Emily Whitlock (ENG)
[13] Dipika Pallikal (IND) v [Q] Mariam Metwally (EGY)
[Q] Samantha Teran (MEX) v [7] Nour El Sherbini (EGY)
[5] Omneya Abdel Kawy (EGY) v Low Wee Wern (MAS)
[WC] Kanzy Emad El Defrawy (EGY) v [15] Joshna Chinappa (IND)
[9] Annie Au (HKG) v Joey Chan (HKG)
Victoria Lust (ENG) v [2] Nicol David (MAS)

Join SQUASHTV and get closer to the PSA World Tour