Skip to content

Baillargeon Battles Past Idrakie in Cactus Classic Qualifying


Canada’s David Baillargeon earned his place in the main draw of the Ganem Vein Institute Cactus Classic, PSA M15 event after a hard-fought clash with Malaysia’s Addeen Idrakie in the final round of qualifying.

Baillargeon quickly settled into a rhythm of taking the ball early and peppering a barrage of attacking shots into the front of the court to take a two-game lead. A change of tactics from Idrakie saw him fight back to level proceedings and the 22-year-old dropped just a single point in the fourth as he looked to be on his way to a superb comeback.

However, buoyed by an enthusiastic crowd, Baillargeon managed to steady his game up to creep to the victory on the tie-break, earning the win with an 11-7, 11-5, 10-12, 1-11, 12-10 scoreline to set up a main draw meeting with United States No.1 Todd Harrity.

Valentino Bong fared better than compatriot Idrakie as he swept past top qualifying seed Joe Chapman to seal his spot in the first round of the main draw. Bong took advantage of an out of sorts Chapman to wrap up the victory in straight games and he will go head-to-head with Qatar’s Abdulla Mohd Al Tamimi in round one.

Elsewhere, Ireland’s Sean Conroy came through a tough 74-minute fixture against Reuben Phillips to move in to to the main draw where he will line up against Reiko Peter for a place in the quarter-final.

Clinton Leeuw and Mark Broekman went up against each other in the other final qualifying round clash with the former prevailing to claim a main draw spot against Henrik Mustonen in the next round.

Results – Final Qualifying Round:
[5] Valentino Bong (MAS) bt [1] Joe Chapman (IVB) 3-0: 12-10, 11-9, 11-6 (34m)
Sean Conroy (IRL) bt [4] Reuben Phillips (ENG) 3-2: 11-7, 7-11, 4-11, 12-10, 12-10 (74m)
[6] Clinton Leeuw (RSA) bt Mark Broekman (ENG) 3-0: 11-5, 14-12, 13-11 (35m)
[8] David Baillargeon (CAN) bt [2] Addeen Idrakie (MAS) 3-2: 11-7, 11-5, 10-12, 1-11, 12-10 (83m)

Main Draw – First Round
[1] Omar Abdel Meguid (EGY) v Jaymie Haycocks (ENG)
[Q] Sean Conroy (IRL) v [7] Reiko Peter (SUI)
[5] Mahesh Mangaonkar (IND) v Karim El Hammamy (EGY)
[Q] Clinton Leeuw (RSA) v [4] Henrik Mustonen (FIN)
[3] Todd Harrity (CAN) v [Q] David Baillargeon (CAN)
Chris Hanson (USA) v [8] Peter Creed (CAN)
[6] Abdulla Mohd Al Tamimi (QAT) v [Q] Valentino Bong (MAS)
[WC] Faraz Khan (USA) v [2] Karim Ali Fathi (EGY)

Join SQUASHTV and get closer to the PSA World Tour