Skip to content

Roshan Khan Open Qualifying Concludes


The final qualifying round of the 6th Parco Roshan Khan Open, PSA M15 tournament saw World No.394 Syed Ali Mujtaba Shah Bokhari cause the day’s big upset with a straight games win over top qualifying seed Faraz Muhammad sending him through to his first PSA World Tour main draw of 2016.

Muhammad had received a bye in the previous round and came into his fixture against Bokhari with fresh legs. However, a virtuoso performance from 20-year-old Bokhari saw him take control and he bridged an almighty 65-place gap in the World Rankings to claim an 11-3, 11-8, 11-6 triumph.

Up next for Bokhari is a meeting with number three seed Shahjahan Khan as he looks to move past the first round of a PSA World Tour event for the first time since 2014.

Also through to main draw is Amaad Fareed after he managed a 3-0 win against Noman Khan. Fareed dominated the early exchanges and cantered to victory in game one for the loss of just two points, before fending off a late fight from Khan to progress to the next stage. Fareed will do battle with fellow Pakistani Asim Khan for a place in the last eight.

There were also wins for local players Waqas Mehboob and Mohammad Naeem after they rose to wins over Mehran Javed and Saddam ul Haq, respectively.

Mehboob is set to face second seed Tayyab Aslam in the opening round of the main draw, while Naeem will line up against Zahir Shah.

Results – Final Qualifying Round: 6th Parco Roshan Khan Open 2016
[5] Syed Ali Mujtaba Shah Bokhari (PAK) bt [1] Faraz Muhammad (PAK) 3-0: 11-8, 11-3, 11-6 (23m)
[3] Amaad Fareed (PAK) bt [8] Noman Khan (PAK) 3-0: 11-2, 11-6, 11-7 (24m)
[L] Waqas Mehboob (PAK) bt [L] Mehran Javed (PAK) 3-0: 11-5, 11-7, 11-3 (19m)
[L] Mohammad Naeem (PAK) bt [L] Sadam Ul Haq (PAK) 3-0: 12-10, 11-9, 11-9 (33m)

Main Draw – First Round
[2] Tayyab Aslam (PAK) v [Q] Waqas Mehboob (PAK)
[Q] Mohammad Naeen (PAK) v [7] Zahir Shah (PAK)
[8] Abbas Maniar (PAK) v Muhammad Farhan (PAK)
[Q] Syed Ali Mujtaba Shah Bokhari (PAK) v [3] Shahjahan Khan (PAK)
[4] Khawaja Adil Maqbool (PAK) v [WC] Mahad Javed (PAK)
[Q] Amaad Fareed (PAK) v [5] Asim Khan (PAK)
[6] Israr Ahmed (PAK) v Bilal Zakir (PAK)
Kashif Asif (PAK) v [1] Farhan Zaman (PAK)

Join SQUASHTV and get closer to the PSA World Tour