Skip to content

Pasqual and Lee Advance through Malaysian Tour Qualifying


Malaysian duo Ryan Pasqual and Andrew Lee secured their places in the main draw of the Malaysian Squash Tour II, PSA M5 tournament after claiming respective wins over Mohammad Jafari and Marcus Sim Wei Jie in the final round of qualifying.

Pasqual started strongly in his fixture with Jafari and surged to a comfortable one-game advantage. Jafari responded though and began to increase the pressure on Pasqual, who had to work extremely hard, but he took games two and three on the tie-break to seal an 11-7, 12-10, 15-13 victory.

Jordan’s Ahmad Al-Saraj awaits Pasqual in the first round of the main draw where a win could see the latter through to an all-Malaysian quarter-final clash against either second seed Sanjay Singh Chal or wildcard Darren Rahul Pragasam.

Lee, meanwhile, also managed a straight games triumph over Jie and will play Elvinn Keo for a place in the last eight.

Hong Kong’s Tsz Kwan Lau joins Pasqual and Lee in the main draw after an injury to compatriot Chris Lo saw him advance. Lau fell two games behind and looked destined to be heading to an early exit after going 7-1 down in the third. However, Lo suffered an injury that meant he was unable to continue, therefore sending Lau through to the main draw action where he will line up against Addeen Idrakie.

Tsun Hei Yuen prevailed in the other final qualifying round fixture against Ong Sai Hung and is rewarded with a main draw matchup against Valentino Bong.

Results – Final Qualifying Round: Malaysian Squash Tour II 2016
Andrew Lee (MAS) bt Marcus Sim Wei Jie (MAS) 3-0: 12-10, 11-6, 15-13
[4] Tsz Kwan Lau (HKG) bt [8] Chris Lo (HKG) 7-11, 9-11, 1-7 ret.
[3] Tsun Hei Yuen (HKG) bt [5] Ong Sai Hung (MAS) 11-2, 11-1, 11-5
Ryan Pasqual (MAS) bt [7] Mohammad Jafari (IRI) 3-0: 11-7, 12-10, 15-13

Main Draw – First Round
[1] Carlos Cornes Ribadas (ESP) v Eain Yow Ng (MAS)
[Q] Tsun Hei Yuen (HKG) v [5] Valentino Bong (MAS)
[8] Muhammad Hannan (MAS) v Bernat Jaume (ESP)
[Q] Tsz Kwan Lau (HKG) v [3] Addeen Idrakie (MAS)
[4] Elvinn Keo (MAS) v [Q] Andrew Lee (MAS)

Muhd Asyraf Azan (MAS) v [7] Mohd Syafiq Kamal (MAS)
[6] Ahmad Al-Saraj (JOR) v [Q] Ryan Pasqual (MAS)
[WC] Darren Rahul Pragasam (MAS) v [2] Sanjay Singh Chal (MAS)

Join SQUASHTV and get closer to the PSA World Tour