Skip to content

Laura Massaro with the 2013 World Championship crown

Women’s World Championship: A History


The Naza PSA Women’s World Championship will return to the National Squash Centre in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia for the first time in 12 years when the prestigious tournament takes place between Monday April 25 – Saturday April 30.

Renowned as the pinnacle competition on the Women’s Tour, the World Championship began in 1976, with the legendary Heather McKay lifting the inaugural title on home soil, courtesy of a victory over compatriot Marion Jackman in the final in Brisbane, Australia.

New Zealand’s Susan Devoy became the first non-Australian winner in 1985, before eventually conceding her crown four years later to Martine Le Moignan who was the maiden English victor.

In 1992, the Women’s World Championship became an annual tournament and a year later saw the beginning of Australia’s dominance of the coveted crown, with Michelle Martin kicking off a period that saw the title shared between herself (3), Sarah Fitz-Gerald (5) and Carol Owens (1) in nine of the next ten years, with only England’s Cassie Campion being able to break through that triumvirate in 1999.

There was soon to be another dominant force in the Women’s game but, rather than a country, it turned out to be one woman, with Malaysian superstar Nicol David lifting her first World Championship crown in Hong Kong in 2005 and she followed that up by retaining her title a year later.

2007 saw a brief reprieve from the Malaysian’s spell as Australia’s Rachael Grinham, a runner-up two years previously, lifted the title, before David responded with five wins on the bounce.

The 2013 edition of the World Championship was delayed for a number of months due to a failure to land a host city, before Penang stepped in to host the tournament, which saw current World No.1 Laura Massaro become the World Champion after defeating Nour El Sherbini in the final.

David is the current World Champion after a stunning victory in the 2014 final against Raneem El Welily, the Egyptian shot-making sensation who overtook David at the summit of the World Rankings last September.

Various difficulties involved in staging the tournament in December 2015 have resulted in the event being moved to April, where all of the exciting action in Kuala Lumpur is set to light up the PSA World Tour.

Previous Winners
2014 Nicol David (MAS)
2013 Laura Massaro (ENG)
2012 Nicol David (MAS)
2011 Nicol David (MAS)
2010 Nicol David (MAS)
2009 Nicol David (MAS)
2008 Nicol David (MAS)
2007 Rachael Grinham (AUS)
2006 Nicol David (MAS)
2005 Nicol David (MAS)
2004 Vanessa Atkinson (NED)
2003 Carol Owens (NZL)
2002 Sarah Fitz-Gerald (AUS)
2001 Sarah Fitz-Gerald (AUS)
2000 Carol Owens (AUS)
1999 Cassie Campion (ENG)
1998 Sarah Fitz-Gerald (AUS)
1997 Sarah Fitz-Gerald (AUS)
1996 Sarah Fitz-Gerald (AUS)
1995 Michelle Martin (AUS)
1994 Michelle Martin (AUS)
1993 Michelle Martin (AUS)
1992 Susan Devoy (NZL)
1991 No competition
1990 Susan Devoy (NZL)
1989 Martine Le Moignan (ENG)
1988 No competition
1987 Susan Devoy (NZL)
1986 No competition
1985 Susan Devoy (NZL)
1984 No competition
1983 Vicki Cardwell (AUS)
1982 No competition
1981 Rhonda Thorne (AUS)
1980 No competition
1979 Heather McKay (AUS)
1978 No competition
1977 No competition
1976 Heather McKay (AUS)

Check out our preview of the Women’s World Championship below

  • Take out an annual SQUASHTV subscription today to watch the Naza PSA Women's World Championship and get 3 months free. Use token 3MONTHSFREE
Join SQUASHTV and get closer to the PSA World Tour