Skip to content

Grayson Axes Lake to Reach Houston Open Main Draw


New Zealand’s Campbell Grayson secured his main draw berth in the 2016 Houston Open, PSA M50 tournament with an assured 3-0 victory over England’s Nathan Lake in the final round of qualifying.

Grayson, the World No.43, was in control throughout the opening two games and rapidly built up a commanding two-game lead. Lake was much improved in the third and took his opponent all the way to a tie-break, but Grayson refused to give up his advantage and closed out the win courtesy of an 11-6, 11-5, 12-10 scoreline.

The 30-year-old from Auckland will line up against maverick Egyptian Mazen Hesham in the opening round of the main draw, with Hesham continuing his recovery from the leg injury that saw him sidelined for three months between January and March.

Finland’s Olli Tuominen narrowly escaped a surprise defeat to Jamaica’s Christopher Binnie after fighting back from two games down to claim the victory. Binnie took the second game on the tie-break whic had appeared to have been a pivotal moment but Tuominen’s experience soon told and he managed the match well to come back and secure the win, setting up a main draw clash with top seed Marwan Elshorbagy.

Tuominen’s compatriot, Henrik Mustonen, and Switzerland’s Reiko Peter were the other qualifiers to progress to the main draw action after they rose to respective triumphs against Danish Atlas Khan and Vikram Malhotra.

Mustonen is set to face Australian No.2 Ryan Cuskelly in round one, while Peter will lock horns with Zahed Mohamed as he bids to reach the last eight.

Results – Final Qualifying Round: Houston Open 2016
[7] Reiko Peter (SUI) bt Vikram Malhotra (IND) 3-0: 11-3, 11-6, 11-7
[4] Henrik Mustonen (FIN) bt [6] Danish Atlas Khan (PAK) 3-0: 11-8, 11-7, 11-5
[3] Olli Tuominen (FIN) bt [8] Christopher Binnie (JAM) 3-2: 8-11, 10-12, 11-8, 11-6, 11-9
[2] Campbell Grayson (NZL) bt [5] Nathan Lake (ENG) 3-0: 11-6, 11-5, 12-10

Main Draw – First Round
[1] Marwan Elshorbagy (EGY) v [Q] Olli Tuominen (FIN)
Nafiizwan Adnan (MAS) v [5] Stephen Coppinger (RSA)
[8] Omar Abdel Meguid (EGY) v [WC] Shahjahan Khan (PAK)
[Q] Campbell Grayson (NZL) v [3] Mazen Hesham (EGY)
[4] Mohamed Abouelghar (EGY) v Diego Elias (PER)
Cesar Salazar (MEX) v [6] Gregoire Marche (FRA)
[7] Zahed Mohamed (EGY) v [Q] Reiko Peter (SUI)
[Q] Henrik Mustonen (FIN) v [2] Ryan Cuskelly (AUS)

Join SQUASHTV and get closer to the PSA World Tour