Skip to content

Qualifying Draws to a Close in BVI Open


The final qualifying round of the British Virgin Islands Open Squash Championship, PSA M5 tournament saw a trio of local players seal their places in the main draw at the Tortola Sports Club.

British Virgin Islands native Mike Adamson overcame compatriot Lee Osborne in straight games to ensure that he will compete in the main draw action. Adamson came through a tight opening game on the tie-break, and followed that up by moving through the gears to secure a 12-10, 11-7, 11-6 victory.

Adamson has the distinction of going up against top seed and title favourite Joe Chapman in round one, with Chapman looking to improve on his semi-final finish at last year’s tournament.

Elsewhere, Dion Anselm is also through to the main draw after dispatching Winston Findlay 3-0. Anselm dominated proceedings and fended off a late attempt at a fightback from his opponent in game three to advance. Up next for Anselm is a showdown with number two seed and 2015 semi-finalist Cameron Stafford, who makes his first appearance on the PSA World Tour since April.

Neville Sorrentino was the other home player to progress past the final round of qualifying courtesy of a win over Alex Davidson, and his reward is a first round meeting with Guatemala’s Mauricio Sedano.

Mexico’s Leonel Cardenas, meanwhile, ended the crowd’s hopes of seeing a local quartet make it through to the main draw after he defeated Rory Thornton, and he will take on World No.193 Albert Shoihet in his maiden PSA World Tour main draw appearance.

Results – Final Qualifying Round: British Virgin Islands Open Squash Championship 2016
[1] Leonel Cardenas (MEX) bt [L] Rory Thornton (IVB) 3-0: 11-3, 11-4, 11-3
[L] Dion Anselm (IVB) bt [L] Winston Findlay (IVB) 3-0: 11-4, 11-8, 11-9
[L] Neville Sorrentino (IVB) bt [L] Alex Davidson (IVB) 3-0: 11-8, 11-7, 11-7
[L] Mike Adamson (IVB) bt [L] Lee Osbourne (IVB) 3-0: 12-10, 11-7, 11-6

Main Draw – First Round
[1] Joe Chapman (IVB) v [Q] Mike Adamson (IVB)
Antonio De La Torre (GUA) v [8] Italo Bonatti (GUA)
[7] Maurico Sedano (GUA) v [Q] Neville Sorrentino (IVB)
David Cromwell (USA) v [3] Adam Murrills (ENG)
[4] Jesus Camacho (MEX) v [WC] Jules Snagg (VIN)
[Q] Leonel Cardenas (MEX) v [6] Albert Shoihet (CAN)
[5] Kale Wilson (TRI) v Jonas Knigge Laursen (DEN)
[Q] Dion Anselm (IVB) v [2] Cameron Stafford (CAY)

Join SQUASHTV and get closer to the PSA World Tour