Skip to content

Wilhelmi Wins in South Australian Open Final Qualifying Round


Top qualifying seed Luca Wilhelmi played to his seeding to advance past the final round of qualifying at the South Australian Open, PSA M5 tournament after a commanding win against South Korea’s Daehoon Jeong.

Wilhelmi, the World No.268, dominated the court at the Campbelltown Leisure Centre and strode to an 11-6, 11-7, 11-4 triumph to reach the main draw.

Up next for Wilhelmi is a first round encounter with number eight seed Joel Luca, who will be looking to improve on his first round exit during the 2014 iteration of this tournament.

Jeong may have bowed out in the final qualifying round stage, but his compatriot, Chang Wook Woo, secured his main draw spot after a dramatic five-game battle with New Zealand’s Eric Millar.

With the scores delicately poised at one-game apiece after a tight opening to the match, Chang stormed to an 11-0 win in the third, only to let Millar back into the encounter in game four to set up a decider. From there, Chang finally managed to get back on top of his opponent and held out to claim the victory and set up a main draw clash with fellow South Korean Ko Youngjo.

Meanwhile, Sandeep Ramachandran and Vincent Droesbeke also moved through to the main draw after wins over Mohamed Saeed and Alex Oswald, respectively. Ramachandran will go head-to-head with Thomas Calvert in the next stage, while Droesbeke will take on David Clegg.

Results – Final Qualifying Round: South Australian Open 2016
[1] Luca Wilhelmi (SUI) bt [7] Daehoon Jeong (KOR) 3-0: 11-6, 11-7, 11-4 (20m)
[4] Vincent Droesbeke (FRA) bt [L] Alex Oswald (AUS) 3-0: 11-1, 11-6, 11-3 (18m)
[3] Sandeep Ramachandran (IND) bt [6] Mohamed Saeed (EGY) 11-5, 12-10, 11-6 (29m)
[2] Chang Wook Woo (KOR) bt [8] Zac Millar (NZL) 3-2: 11-9, 10-12, 11-0, 8-11, 11-4 (39m)

Main Draw – First Round
[1] Rhys Dowling (AUS) v Solayman Nowrozi (AUS)
[Q] Luca Wilhelmi (SUI) v [8] Joel Luca (AUS)
[6] Jong Myoung Park (KOR) v Alex Eustace (AUS)
[Q] Vincent Droesbeke (FRA) v [4] David Clegg (AUS)
[3] Thomas Calvert (AUS) v [Q] Sandeep Ramachandran (IND)
Vivian Rhamanan (SIN) v [7] Mike Corren (AUS)
[5] Elliot Selby (ENG) v Courtney West (AUS)
[Q] Chang Wook Woo (KOR) v [2] Ko Youngjo (KOR)

Join SQUASHTV and get closer to the PSA World Tour