Skip to content

Coxsedge Sole Home Player to Reach Bendigo International Second Round


Australian World No.454 Lachlan Coxsedge made it past the opening round of a PSA World Tour event for the first time in his fledgling career after upsetting compatriot David Clegg on home soil on day one of the Bendigo International, PSA M5 tournament.

Coxsedge, who sits 261 places below Clegg in the World Rankings, took a shock one-game lead, but normal service appeared to have been resumed when fifth seed Clegg claimed the second for the loss of just three points.

But a tenacious display from 17-year-old Coxsedge saw him back in the ascendancy in games three and four to wrap up an impressive 11-8, 3-11, 11-9, 11-9 victory that sees him become the only Australian to reach the second round, where he will be pitted against Mohamed Saeed after the Egyptian dispatched Rohan Toole.

Elsewhere, Switzerland’s Dmitri Steinmann sealed his second round berth with a commanding 3-0 triumph over Courtney West and his reward is an encounter with South Korea’s Daehoon Jeong, who overcame Javel Ali in four games.

Steinmann’s compatriot, World No.215 Patrick Miescher, will join him in the next round after he surged to a win over Arnold Phat in straight games, while his second round opponent, Qatar’s Syed Azlan Amjad, made short work of Tyler Hawkins.

Ko Youngjo and Mithran Selvaratnam were also in action and scored respective wins over Dominique Ratcliffe and TJ French. Youngjo will lock horns with Frenchman Vincent Droeskebe for a place in the last eight, while Selvaratnam will take on Remo Handl.

Results – First Round: Bendigo International 2016
[1] Evan Williams (NZL) (bye)
Jong Myoung Park (KOR) bt Jason Holmes (AUS) 3-0: 11-3, 11-8, 11-6 (28m)
Remo Handl (SUI) bt Shahzad Khan (PAK) 3-1: 11-13, 11-6, 11-8, 11-8 (44m)
[8] Mithran Selvaratnam (MAS) bt TJ French (AUS) 3-1: 11-6, 9-11, 11-3, 11-7 (39m)
[7] Ko Youngjo (KOR) bt Dominique Ratcliffe (AUS) 3-0: 11-6, 11-7, 11-6 (26m)
Vincent Droesbeke (FRA) bt [WC] Darcy Walsh (AUS) 3-0: 11-7, 11-7, 11-8 (23m)
Sandeep Ramachandran (IND) bt Nathan Lindner (AUS) 3-0: 11-6, 11-7, 11-6 (28m)
[3] Ben Grindrod (NZL) (bye)
[4] Dimitri Steinmann (SUI) bt Courtney West (AUS) 3-0: 11-5, 11-4, 11-5 (22m)
Daehoon Jeong (KOR) bt Javed Ali (PAK) 3-1: 10-12, 11-5, 13-11, 11-6 (41m)
Mohamed Saeed (EGY) bt Rohan Toole (AUS) 3-0: 11-1, 11-7, 11-9 (21m)
Lachlan Coxsedge (AUS) bt [5] David Clegg (AUS) 3-1: 11-8, 3-11, 11-9, 11-8 (34m)
[6] Patrick Miescher (SUI) bt Arnold Phatraprasit (THA) 3-0: 11-4, 11-3, 11-9 (25m)
Syed Azlan Amjad (QAT) bt Tyler Hawkins (AUS) 3-0: 11-6, 11-6, 11-5 (35m)
Luke Jones (NZL) bt Luca Wilhelmi (SUI) 3-1: 12-10, 8-11, 11-8, 11-5 (45m)
[2] Elvinn Keo (MAS) (bye)

Draw – Second Round
[1] Evan Williams (NZL) v Jong Myoung Park (KOR)
Remo Handl (SUI) v [8] Mithran Selvaratnam (MAS)
[7] Ko Youngjo (KOR) v Vincent Droesbeke (FRA)
Sandeep Ramachandran (IND) v [3] Ben Grindrod (NZL)
[4] Dimitri Steinmann (SUI) v Dahoon Jeong (KOR)
Mohamed Saeed (EGY) v Lachlan Coxsedge (AUS)
[6] Patrick Miescher (SUI) v Syed Azlan Amjad (QAT0
Luke Jones (NZL) v [2] Elvinn Keo (MAS)

Join SQUASHTV and get closer to the PSA World Tour