Skip to content

Saxby Slaloms Through to Women’s Australian Open Main Draw


World No.68 Tamika Saxby earned her place in the main draw of the Australian Open, PSA W15 tournament courtesy of a 3-0 win over Malaysia’s Rachel Arnold on home soil at the Melbourne Sports & Aquatic Centre.

Saxby’s marvellous recent form has seen her win four of her last five PSA World Tour events and the 23-year-old eased into the opening round of the main draw thanks to an 11-7, 11-4, 11-8 triumph.

Up next for Saxby is a meeting with Belgian 20-year-old Nele Gilis, who reached the quarter-final of the Victorian Open on her last PSA World Tour outing.

World No.66 Lisa Camilleri was the other Australian in action in the final round of qualifying, but she was unable to follow compatriot Saxby through to the main draw after succumbing to Egypt’s Nouran El Torky in straight games, the second of which ended 21-19 in El Torky’s favour.

El Torky will line up against the in-form Millie Tomlinson in the main draw, while talented youngster Hana Ramadan will join her there after dispatching Reyna Pacheco to set up a meeting with home player Christine Nunn.

Canada’s Danielle Letourneau was the other player to secure a main draw spot, with a 3-0 victory over top qualifying seed Amanda Landers-Murphy enabling her to advance to the next round where she will take on World No.46 Mayar Hany.

Results – Final Qualifying Round: Women’s Australian Open 2016
[5] Danielle Letourneau (CAN) bt [1] Amanda Landers-Murphy (NZL) 11-7, 12-10, 11-1 (43m)
Hana Ramadan (EGY) bt [7] Reyna Pacheco (USA) 11-2, 12-10, 11-5 (21m)
Tamika Saxby (AUS) bt [4] Rachel Arnold (MAS) 11-7, 11-4, 11-8 (23m)
[2] Nouran El Torky (EGY) bt [6] Lisa Camilleri (AUS) 11-4, 21-19, 11-3 (26m)

Main Draw – First Round
[1] Dipika Pallikal Karthik (IND) v [WC] Jessica Turnbull (AUS)
Megan Craig (NZL) v [7] Misaki Kobayashi (JPN)
[5] Christine Nunn (AUS) v [Q] Hana Ramadan (EGY)
[Q] Nouran El Torky (EGY) v [4] Millie Tomlinson (ENG)
[3] Liu Tsz-Ling (HKG) v Siyoli Waters (RSA)
[Q] Danielle Letourneau (CAN) v [8] Mayar Hany (EGY)
[6] Nele Gilis (BEL) v [Q] Tamika Saxby (AUS)
Sarah Cardwell (AUS) v [2] Donna Urquhart (AUS)

Join SQUASHTV and get closer to the PSA World Tour