Skip to content

Ivan Yuen takes on Youssef Soliman

CCI International Main Draw Finalised After Qualification Ends


Top qualifying seed Ivan Yuen earned his place in the main draw of the 2016 CCI International JSW ISC event after defeating Egypt’s Youssef Soliman 3-0 in the final round of qualifying at the PSA M50 tournament held at the Cricket Club of India in Mumbai.

The CCI International is the second tournament on the 2016 version of the Indian Squash Circuit – which has been running since 2014 – and will see a high-quality draw battle it out for a share of the $50,000 prize purse, with Yuen set to face Indian No.1 and last year’s runner-up Saurav Ghosal in the opening round of main draw action.

Welshman Joel Makin also rose to victory on the final day of qualification, beating Yuen’s fellow Malaysian Addeen Idrakie to set up a first round meeting with Frenchman Lucas Serme.

England’s Jaymie Haycocks and Indian No.3 Mahesh Mangaonkar were the other players to seal their places in the main draw.

Haycocks overcame Jamaica’s Christopher Binnie, while Mangaonkar was given a walkover against compatriot Harinder Pal Singh Sandhu after the latter failed to recover from a back injury.

Switzerland’s Nicolas Mueller will face Haycocks, with Scotland’s Alan Clyne set to meet Mangaonkar when the main draw gets under way on Thursday November 24.

Results – Final Qualifying Round: 2016 CCI International JSW ISC
[1] Ivan Yuen (MAS) bt [5] Youssef Soliman (EGY) 3-0: 11-7, 11-4, 11-9 (50m)
[7] Jaymie Haycocks (ENG) bt [4] Christopher Binnie (JAM) 3-0: 11-6, 11-7, 11-4 (32m)
[3] Joel Makin (WAL) bt Addeen Idrakie (MAS) 3-1: 11-2, 11-1, 1-11, 11-3 (43m)
[2] Mahesh Mangaonkar (IND) bt [6] Harinder Pal Singh Sandhu (IND) w/o

Draw – First Round
[1] Fares Dessouky (EGY) v Olli Tuominen (FIN)
[Q] Mahesh Mangaonkar (IND) v [6] Alan Clyne (SCO)
[7] Lucas Serme (FRA) v [Q] Joel Makin (WAL)
Campbell Grayson (NZL) v [3] Chris Simpson (ENG)
[4] Saurav Ghosal (IND) v [Q] Ivan Yuen (MAS)
[Q] Jaymie Haycocks (ENG) v [5] Nicolas Mueller (SUI)
[8] Mohamed Reda (EGY) v [WC] Vikram Malhotra (IND)
Tsz Fung Yip (HKG) v [2] Mohamed Abouelghar (EGY)

Join SQUASHTV and get closer to the PSA World Tour