Skip to content

Top 10 Player Ali Farag Is A Former Harvard Representative

2017 College Men's Team Championships Underway

The 2017 College Men's Team Championships gets underway this weekend at Harvard University when the Potter Cup will be on the line – and SQUASHTV will be on site to bring you the best of the action.

Harvard’s all-glass court will be the location for the action from 12:30pm EST Friday, February 17 until the 2017 finals on Sunday at, February 19, at 1pm EST when, after ending the regular season tied first in ranking points, Trinity and Harvard will be hoping to clinch the biggest team title in US College Squash.

And SQUASHTV will bring you the Potter Cup action live.

The Potter Cup draw

In total sixty-two teams will travel to Harvard University, MIT, Brooks School and Belmont Hill School in Boston this weekend to contest the Championships, which consist of eight divisions in brackets of eight, including the National Championship Potter Cup (A division), Hoehn Cup (B division), Summers Cup (C division), Conroy Cup (D division), Chaffee Cup (E division), Serues Cup (F division), Hawthorn Cup (G division), and H division.

With one loss each, Trinity and Harvard ended the regular season tied in ranking points. Trinity earned the No. 1 seed at nationals due to the head-to-head result tie-breaker.

The Bantams will face eight seeds, University of Pennsylvania, in the first round, and are seeded to meet the winner of a highly-anticipated quarterfinal between four seeds and 2016 finalist University of Rochester facing five seeds St. Lawrence University.

Just one week after a 5-4 win against Ivy rivals and defending champions Yale to cap off their regular season, two seeds Harvard will face the Bulldogs again in the first round. The winner will face either Columbia or Drexel in the second semifinal.

Both the Lions and Dragons achieved program-best rankings of No. 2 and No. 6 respectively this season, with six seeds Drexel making their first Potter Cup appearance.

An all-Ivy league final is predicted in the Hoehn Cup between one seeds Dartmouth and two seeds Princeton. Three-time Hoehn Cup champions, University of Western Ontario, enter the draw as the three seeds with the Naval Academy seeded fourth.

Defending Summers Cup champions Williams College will need to defeat higher-ranked Middlebury College in the predicted final in order to retain their title.

Two-time Conroy Cup champions Hobart College are seeded for a third title with Wesleyan University seeded to meet the Statesmen in the final.

Past Chaffee Cup champions Boston College and Denison University enter the Chaffee draw as the three and four seeds respectively. Bucknell University enter CSA nationals with their highest seeding to date as the Chaffee top seeds, with a predicted final against Haverford College.

Defending Serues Cup champions, Northeastern University enter the Serues draw at the three seeds, while neighbours Boston University lead the draw as the top seeds with a predicted final against Fordham University.

The Hawthorn Cup is seeded for a rematch of the 2016 final between defending champions Colgate University and this year’s top seeds, Northwestern University.

Six teams will contest the H Division title, with University of Notre Dame seeded to take the title.

Join SQUASHTV and get closer to the PSA World Tour