Skip to content

Scotland's Alan Clyne in action during January's J.P. Morgan Tournament of Champions

World Doubles Champions Scotland and New Zealand Tipped For Success In Manchester

Reigning champions Scotland and New Zealand are expected to retain their gold medals in next month's World Doubles Squash Championships, according to the seedings announced by the World Squash Federation.

The 2017 championships, hosted by England Squash in conjunction with Scottish Squash, will take place at the National Squash Centre in Manchester, England, between 1-5 August.

The National Squash Centre is one of the most renowned venues in the world of squash and will host the early rounds of December's PSA World Championships.

The 5th World Doubles Championships, featuring Men's, Women's and Mixed events, will be contested by a record 50 pairings from Australia, Canada, Colombia, England, India, Malaysia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Scotland, South Africa and Wales.

Scottish duo Alan Clyne & Greg Lobban, winners of the Men's gold medal in the 2016 championship in Darwin, Australia, are top seeds in Manchester – where they are expected to face second-seeded Australians Ryan Cuskelly & Cameron Pilley in the final.

Elsewhere, World No.12 Joelle King is bidding to become a double gold medallist for the second year in a row after guiding New Zealand to title success in both the Women's and Mixed events last August.

Paired with Amanda Landers-Murphy again in the 2017 Women's championship, King is predicted to line up against Joshna Chinappa & Dipika Pallikal Karthik, the No.2 seeds from India, in a repeat of the 2016 final.

British Open finalists Laura Massaro and Sarah-Jane Perry also team up in the Women's event and are seeded in the same pool as compatriots Jenny Duncalf and Alison Waters.

World No.12 Paul Coll and King are the Mixed favourites, while the second seeds are also the same Indian pairing of Pallikal Karthik & Saurav Ghosal, whom they beat in the 2016 final.

Pool Line-Ups

Men's Pool A
[1] Alan Clyne & Greg Lobban (SCO)
[8] Nafiizwan Adnan & Ivan Yuen (MAS)
[9] Harinder Pal Singh Sandhu & Mahesh Mangaonkar (IND)
[13/16] Dylan Bennett & Piedro Schweertman (NED)

Men's Pool B
[2] Ryan Cuskelly & Cameron Pilley (AUS)
[7] Peter Creed & Joel Makin (WAL)
[10] Evan Williams & Lance Beddoes (NZL)
[13/16] Christo Potgieter & Jean-Pierre Brits (RSA)

Men's Pool C
[3] Zac Alexander & David Palmer (AUS)
[6] Tom Richards & Daryl Selby (ENG)
[11] Andrés Herrera & Juan Camilo Vargas (COL)
[13/16] Mohd Syafiq Kamal & Eain Yow Ng (MAS)

Men's Pool D
[4] Paul Coll & Campbell Grayson (NZL)
[5] Declan James & James Willstrop (ENG)
[12] Douglas Kempsell & Kevin Moran (SCO)
[13/16] David Baillargeon & Shawn Delierre (CAN)
[17] Richard Larsson & Martin Andresen (NOR)

Women's Pool A
[1] Joelle King & Amanda Landers-Murphy (NZL)
[8] Samantha Cornett & Nikki Todd (CAN)
[9] Natalie Grinham & Milou van der Heijden (NED)

Women's Pool B
[2] Joshna Chinappa & Dipika Pallikal Karthik (IND)
[7] Tesni Evans & Deon Saffery (WAL)
[10] Catalina Pelaez & Laura Tovar (COL)

Women's Pool C
[3] Rachael Grinham & Donna Urquhart (AUS)
[6] Rachel Arnold & Nicol David (MAS)
[11] Sarah Cardwell & Tamika Saxby (AUS)

Women's Pool D
[4] Laura Massaro & Sarah-Jane Perry (ENG)
[5] Jenny Duncalf & Alison Waters (ENG)
[12] Lisa Aitken & Carrie Hallam (SCO)
[13] Cheyna Tucker & Alexandra Fuller (RSA)

Mixed Pool A
[1] Joelle King & Paul Coll (NZL)
[8] Victoria Lust & Adrian Waller (ENG)
[9] Deon Saffery & Joel Makin (WAL)
[13/16] Lisa Aitken & Harry Leitch (SCO)
[17/20] Milnay Louw & Christo Potgieter (RSA)

Mixed Pool B
[2] Dipika Pallikal Karthik & Saurav Ghosal (IND)
[7] Tesni Evans & Peter Creed (WAL)
[10] Samantha Cornett & Shawn Delierre (CAN)
[13/16] Rachel Arnold & Mohd Syafiq Kamal (MAS)
[17/20] Milou van der Heijden & Dylan Bennett (NED)

Mixed Pool C
[3] Donna Urquhart & Cameron Pilley (AUS)
[6] Joshna Chinappa & Vikram Malhotra (IND)
[11] Amanda Landers-Murphy & Zac Millar (NZL)
[13/16] Catalina Pelaez & Andrés Herrera (COL)
[17/20] Carrie Hallam & Kevin Moran (SCO)

Mixed Pool D
[4] Rachael Grinham & David Palmer (AUS)
[5] Alison Waters & Daryl Selby (ENG)
[12] Natalie Grinham & Piedro Schweertman (NED)
[13/16] Nikki Todd & David Baillargeon (CAN)
[17/20] Laura Tovar & Juan Camilo Vargas (COL)

Join SQUASHTV and get closer to the PSA World Tour