Skip to content

Greg Lobban

Home Hopes Felled as Hong Kong Open Qualifying Draws to a Close

The final qualifying round of the 2017 Cathay Pacific Sun Hung Kai Financial Hong Kong Open saw four out of five local players bow out of the World Series tournament, with home hero and second qualifying seed Tsz Fung Yip falling to Scotland’s World No.40 Greg Lobban.

World No.29 Yip caused a huge shock at last season’s tournament as he delighted the crowd with a win over third seed Miguel Angel Rodriguez but he was on the wrong end of an upset this time around as Lobban played above his seeding to take a 3-1 win.

25-year-old Lobban will take on Zahed Mohamed next, while the top qualifying seed Nicolas Mueller also bowed out after falling to Germany’s Raphael Kandra, who added Mueller to a growing list of scalps this season.

Elsewhere, Malaysia’s Nafiizwan Adnan came out on top in a titanic five-game tussle with experienced Fin Olli Tuominen to set up a first round clash with Egypt’s World No.8 Fares Dessouky.

England’s Adrian Waller also prevailed in five games over Welshman Joel Makin, while Harinder Pal Singh Sandhu will make his Hong Kong Open main draw debut at the sixth attempt after he defeated Egypt’s Youssef Soliman to ensure he will face World No.9 Paul Coll.

In the women’s event, World No.49 Tong Tsz-Wing was the sole player from Hong Kong to make it into the main draw. The 25-year-old axed compatriots Fung Ching Hei and Vanessa Chu to emerge from the qualifying rounds unscathed, recovering from a tie-break defeat in the opening game of her fixture with Chu to set up a meeting with Hong Kong No.1 Annie Au in round one of the main draw.

World No.46 Ho Tze-Lok was another Hong Kong casualty on the final day of qualifying as she fell to 17-year-old Egyptian Nada Abbas, while Ka Yi Lee also exited the tournament after she surrendered a 2-1 lead against Malaysia’s Rachel Arnold.

Elsewhere, 2010 runner-up Jenny Duncalf fell to a surprise defeat against Canadian World No.45 Danielle Letourneau – losing 3-0 in just 23 minutes – and Letourneau will be joined in the main draw by countrywomen Hollie Naughton, who vanquished Haley Mendez of the United States.

There were also wins for Nadine Shahin, Hania El Hammamy and Milou van der Heijden.

The main draw of the Hong Kong Open will be held at the Hong Kong Squash Centre between November 14-16 before moving to the glass court erected at the arena in Hong Kong Park Sports Centre on November 17-19.

Matches from the main draw will be shown live on SQUASHTV (Rest of World) or Eurosport Player (Europe only), while semi-finals and finals will be shown live on mainstream broadcast channels around the world, including BT Sport, beIN Sports, Fox Sports Australia and Astro.

Tickets can be purchased by completing and sending a booking form via email to or by fax to 852-28690118
The booking form can be downloaded here:
For more information, please visit the tournament website:

Results – Final Qualifying Round: 2017 Men’s Cathay Pacific Sun Hung Kai Financial Hong Kong Open
[11] Raphael Kandra (GER) bt [1] Nicolas Mueller (SUI) 3-1: 11-4, 9-11, 11-4, 11-6 (42m)
[6] Declan James (ENG) bt [16] Todd Harrity (USA) 3-1: 7-11, 11-4, 11-5, 11-9 (48m)
[8] Tom Richards (ENG) bt [8] Mohamed Reda (EGY) w/o
Harinder Pal Singh Sandhu (IND) bt [15] Youssef Soliman (EGY) 3-1: 11-8, 11-8, 3-11, 11-5 (59m)
[3] Nafiizwan Adnan (MAS) bt [13] Olli Tuominen (FIN) 3-2: 10-12, 11-7, 10-12, 11-8, 12-10 (84m)
[7] Adrian Waller (ENG) bt [14] Joel Makin (WAL) 3-2: 8-11, 11-7, 11-4, 5-11, 11-4 (67m)
[10] Lucas Serme (FRA) bt Iker Pajares Bernabeu (ESP) 3-0: 11-8, 11-5, 11-3 (45m)
[12] Greg Lobban (SCO) bt [2] Tsz Fung Yip (HKG) 3-1: 11-9, 11-9, 9-11, 11-6 (58m)

Draw – First Round (Top Half): To Be Played November 14th
[1] Gregory Gaultier (FRA) v Gregoire Marche (FRA)
Paul Coll (NZL) v [Q] Harinder Pal Singh Sandhu (IND)
Zahed Mohamed (EGY) v [Q] Greg Lobban (SCO)
[5] Marwan ElShorbagy (EGY) v Omar Abdel Meguid (EGY)
[6] James Willstrop (ENG) v Mohamed Abouelghar (EGY)
Simon Rösner (GER) v Mathieu Castagnet (FRA)
Omar Mosaad (EGY) v [Q] Lucas Serme (FRA)
[3] Mohamed ElShorbagy (EGY) v Max Lee (HKG)

Draw – First Round (Bottom Half): To Be Played November 15
[Q] Tom Richards (ENG) v [4] Ali Farag (EGY)
[WC] Leo Au (HKG) v Ramy Ashour (HKG)
[Q] Declan James (ENG) v Saurav Ghosal (IND)
[Q] Nafiizwan Adnan (MAS) v [8] Fares Dessouky (EGY)
Alan Clyne (SCO) v [7] Tarek Momen (EGY)
[Q] Adrian Waller (ENG) v Ryan Cuskelly (AUS)
[Q] Raphael Kandra (GER) v Cameron Pilley (AUS)
Cesar Salazar (MEX) v [2] Karim Abdel Gawad (EGY)

Results – Final Qualifying Round: 2017 Women’s Cathay Pacific Sun Hung Kai Financial Hong Kong Open
[14] Rachel Arnold (MAS) bt Lee Ka Yi (HKG) 3-2: 4-11, 11-9, 10-12, 11-6, 13-11 (49m)
[9] Milou van der Heijden (NED) bt [7] Misaki Kobayashi (JPN) 11-8, 14-16, 7-11, 11-7, 11-7 (50m)
[5] Hania El Hammamy (EGY) bt [13] Amina Yousry (EGY) 3-1: 9-11, 11-7, 11-6, 11-5 (41m)
[4] Nadine Shahin (EGY) bt [10] Sarah Cardwell (AUS) 3-0: 11-3, 11-5, 11-2 (21m)
[11] Danielle Letourneau (CAN) bt [3] Jenny Duncalf (ENG) 3-0: 11-6, 11-6, 11-6 (23m)
[6] Nada Abbas (EGY) bt [16] Ho Tze-Lok (HKG) 3-0: 11-8, 13-11, 11-8 (32m)
[8] Hollie Naughton (CAN) bt [15] Haley Mendez (USA) 3-2: 11-3, 9-11, 12-14, 11-4, 11-2 (47m)
[12] Tong Tsz-Wing (HKG) bt Vanessa Chu (HKG) 3-1: 12-14, 11-7, 11-5, 11-6 (47m)

Draw – First Round (Top Half): To Be Played November 14th
[1] Nour El Sherbini (EGY) v [Q] Nada Abbas (EGY)
Donna Urquhart (AUS) v [15] Victoria Lust (ENG)
[11] Joshna Chinappa (IND) v [Q] Hollie Naughton (CAN)
[WC] Liu Tsz-Ling (HKG) v [7] Nouran Gohar (EGY)
[8] Alison Waters (ENG) v Heba El Torky (EGY)
[Q] Milou van der Heijden (NED) v [14] Tesni Evans (WAL)
[16] Olivia Blatchford (USA) v Millie Tomlinson (ENG)
[Q] Hania El Hammamy (EGY) v [4] Laura Massaro (ENG)

Draw – First Round (Bottom Half): To Be Played November 15
[3] Camille Serme (FRA) v [Q] Rachel Arnold (MAS)
Joey Chan (HKG) v [12] Emily Whitlock (ENG)
[9] Annie Au (HKG) v [Q] Tong Tsz-Wing (HKG)
[Q] Danielle Letourneau (CAN) v [5] Nicol David (MAS)
[6] Sarah-Jane Perry (ENG) v Coline Aumard (FRA)
[Q] Nadine Shahin (EGY) v [10] Joelle King (NZL)
[13] Nour El Tayeb (EGY) v Dipika Pallikal Karthik (IND)
Fiona Moverley (ENG) v [2] Raneem El Welily (EGY)

Join SQUASHTV and get closer to the PSA World Tour