Skip to content

G.O.A.T: Men - The Final Shortlist

Over the past few weeks, we have been giving you the chance to decide the greatest players in squash history as we take a look at the achievements and legacies of some of the most recognisable names ever to take to a squash court.

Squash fans have voted in their thousands to decide the final shortlist and you can now choose who they think is the official 'greatest of all time'.

First up is the men – you can cast your vote at the bottom of this page.

Voting closes on Monday August 6 at 10:00 BST.

Vote for the women's GOAT here.

Ramy Ashour

Described as one of the ‘most talented racket sport players ever’, Egyptian Ramy Ashour is unquestionably one of the greatest players of the modern era but a player who’s achievements could have been even greater were it not for a series of chronic injuries that have limited his playing time. However, the Egyptian still has three World Championship crowns to his name amongst other big accolades in the sport.

Amr Shabana

Egypt’s Amr Shabana is widely considered to be one of the greatest players of all time, having won the majority of the top accolades the sport has to offer and also reaching the coveted World No.1 spot. He is also one of the iconic Egyptian players of this era, leading the way for the current Egyptian dominance.

Nick Matthew

England’s Nick Matthew has achieved everything there is to achieve in squash with the Yorkshireman racking up an impressive 35 PSA World Tour titles during his glittering career including three World Championship titles, three British Open titles and three Commonwealth Games Gold Medals.

Gregory Gaultier

Considered to be one of the most charismatic players on the PSA World Tour, Gregory Gaultier is the most successful French player of all time and a player who has transformed from an emotional, often temperamental teenage prodigy, into one of the most consistent players around and the first player in the modern era to play in over 700 matches.

Mohamed ElShorbagy

A determined competitor with a fierce will to win, Bristol-based Egyptian Mohamed ElShorbagy has lifted every major title the sport has to offer and is the longest-reigning Egyptian World No.1 ever.

Jahangir Khan

555 successive wins, 10 British Open titles and six World Championship crowns – Pakistani legend Jahangir Khan has a trophy cabinet that few other players have come close to matching. Khan is widely regarded as one of the greatest sportspeople of all time.

Jansher Khan

Another key part of the Pakistani dominance of the sport throughout the 80s and 90s, Jansher Khan won the World Championships a record eight times and also added six British Open titles to a glittering trophy-haul.

Jonathon Power

The iconic Jonathon Power made history in 1999 when he became the first North American squash player to reach the World No.1 ranking. He also won 36 top-level squash events during his glittering career, including the World Championship in 1998 and the British Open in 1999.

Peter Nicol

Peter Nicol is one of the legends of this era of squash and during his illustrious career he won one World Open title, two British Open titles and four Commonwealth Games Gold Medals. Born in Scotland in 1973, Nicol is widely considered to be one of the most outstanding international squash players of his time.

Ahmed Barada

When Ahmed Barada stunned the squash world by becoming the first wildcard to reach the final of a PSA Super Series tournament – as World Series events were known then – he laid down the foundations for Egypt’s domination of the sport at present.

Geoff Hunt

The most prolific Australian male of all time, Geoff Hunt enjoyed a captivating rivalry with Jonah Barrington in the nascent stages of his career before going on to cement himself as one of the greatest players ever to play the sport, with four World Championship titles and eight British Open wins capping a lengthy list of honours for the man from Melbourne.

Jonah Barrington

The man who changed the face of squash, Jonah Barrington is a pioneer and visionary who brought about the birth of professionalism in the sport and his impact and legacy lives on to this day, over 45 years since he lifted the last of his six British open titles

Qamar Zaman

Qamar Zaman born in 1952 in Quetta, Pakistan was one of the leading players in squash during the 1970s and 1980s. His biggest triumph was winning the British Open in 1975 when he beat defending champion Geoff Hunt of Australia in the quarter-finals and went onto win the title beating his fellow Pakistani player Gogi Alauddin in the final 9-7, 9-6, 9-1.

Abdelfattah AbouTaleb

Abdelfattah AbouTaleb, better known as “A.A. AbouTaleb”, or simply “AbouTaleb”, was a squash player from Egypt and during the 1960s, he won the British Open three times.

Azam Khan

Azam Khan was an influential member of the ‘Khan Dynasty’ that dominated the sport throughout four different decades, lifting four British Open titles to pick up where his older brother, Hashim, left off.

Hashim Khan

Considered to be squash’s original Godfather, Khan was born in Peshawar in what is modern day Pakistan. Khan- who’s exact date of birth remains a mystery – broke racial and class barriers during a pioneering career that saw him win the prestigious British Open a total of seven times, becoming the first Pakistani champion in tournament history and launching the Khan dynasty that would dominate squash throughout the 1980s and 1990s.

F.D. Amr Bey

A six-time British Open Champion and six-time British Amateur Championship winner, Abdelfattah Amr – better known as F.D. Amr Bey – was the firstly truly dominant squash player in history and a man credited for creating the foundations upon which Egypt’s current domination of squash has been built upon.

Roshan Khan

Peshawar-born Roshan Khan was part of the first wave of Pakistani talent that dominated the sport in the 1950s and early 60s, while he also played a huge part in the incredible ‘Khan Dynasty’ – fathering the legendary Jahangir Khan, who went on to have a record-breaking career in the sport – while winning a British Open title.

Don Butcher

Don Butcher was the first player to actually win the British Open men’s title in 1931. Butcher was considered a very innovative player in his time. He deviated from the conventional up and down the wall style adopted by most players in his era, making full use of boasts, lobs, drop shots and reverse angles, as well as cultivating the serve.

Mahmoud Karim

Mahmoud Karim won four straight British Open titles from 1947-50 to write his name into the squash history books. He was seen as a player of unique talent, who brought completely new qualities to the game.

Join SQUASHTV and get closer to the PSA World Tour