Skip to content

Ali Farag celebrates during the 2018 British Open

Main Draw Released for Alexandria International

The main draw for next month’s Alexandria International Squash Open has been released today, with Egyptian duo Ali Farag and Marwan ElShorbagy seeded to meet in the final of the PSA World Tour Gold event, which will take place at the Bibliotheca Alexandrina between September 17-21.

Farag, the current World No.2, is seeded on the same side of the draw as 2016 World Champion Karim Abdel Gawad and Peru’s World No.11 Diego Elias, both of whom will play each other in a mouthwatering quarter-finals fixture.

Farag receives a bye into the second round and will take on either England’s Declan James or tournament wildcard Omar El Torkey for a place in the last eight.

Alexandria-born ElShorbagy is seeded to meet World No.4 Tarek Momen in the semi-finals but must first navigate a draw that contains the likes of Scotland’s Greg Lobban and compatriot Mohamed Abouelghar.

The Alexandria International will be only the second PSA World Tour Gold tournament to take place under the new PSA tour structure, meaning that qualification has been scrapped and a 24-man draw will battle it out for the $103,000 prize fund, with the top eight seeds receiving a bye into the second round.

The opening round of fixtures will be held at the Alexandria Sporting Club, while round two matches will be split between the club and the Bibliotheca Alexandrina. All matches from the quarter-finals onwards will be staged at the Bibliotheca Alexandrina.

Main Draw – 2018 Alexandria International Squash Open
[1] Ali Farag (EGY) (bye)
[WC] Omar El Torkey (EGY) v [9/16] Declan James (ENG)
[9/16] Tom Richards (ENG) v Chris Simpson (ENG)
[8] Daryl Selby (ENG) (bye)
[5] Diego Elias (PER) (bye)
Omar Abdel Meguid (EGY) v [9/16] Zahed Salem (EGY)
[9/16] Mazen Hesham (EGY) v Karim Ali Fathi (EGY)
[4] Karim Abdel Gawad (EGY) (bye)
[3] Tarek Momen (EGY) (bye)
Ben Coleman (ENG) v [9/16] Cesar Salazar (MEX)
[9/16] Borja Golan (ESP) v Arturo Salazar (MEX)
[7] Omar Mosaad (EGY) (bye)
[6] Mohamed Abouelghar (EGY) (bye)
Alan Clyne (SCO) v [9/16] Gregoire Marche (FRA)
[9/16] Greg Lobban (SCO) v Adrian Waller (ENG)
[2] Marwan ElShorbagy (EGY) (bye)

Join SQUASHTV and get closer to the PSA World Tour