Skip to content

The glass court staged at Philadelphia's Daskalakis Athletic Center

U.S. Open To Bring World-Class Squash to Philadelphia in October

The FS Investments U.S. Open Squash Championships will become the first PSA World Tour Platinum tournament to take place under the new PSA tour structure when the world’s best players descend on Drexel University’s Daskalakis Athletic Center in Philadelphia between October 6-13.

The U.S. Open is one of the most pioneering tournaments on the PSA Tour, becoming the first major squash tournament to commit to equal prize money in 2013, and this year’s tournament will feature its largest ever prize purse with $338K up for grabs across both 48-player draws.

World No.1 Mohamed ElShorbagy – the 2014 and 2016 champion – leads the men’s field which contains former winners such as defending champion Ali Farag and three-time winner Gregory Gaultier.

Farag’s memorable win over ElShorbagy last year came shortly after wife Nour El Tayeb beat World Champion Raneem El Welily to lift the women’s title – meaning they became the first married couple in sporting history ever to win the same major sports title on the same day.

El Tayeb and El Welily are joined in the women’s draw by the likes of World No.1 Nour El Sherbini, 2016 winner Camille Serme, 2015 victor Laura Massaro and three-time winner Nicol David.

U.S. interest in the women’s draw comes in the form of World No.14 Olivia Blatchford, World No.18 Amanda Sobhy, World No.43 Haley Mendez and wildcards Reeham Sedky and Olivia Fletcher.

Wayne-native World No.49 Todd Harrity features in the men’s draw along fellow Americans Andrew Douglas and Christopher Gordon, who take the wildcard spots.

The qualification for the PSA World Tour Finals hots up at the U.S. Open with both the men’s and women’s champions automatically guaranteeing their place at the season-ending tournament.

Tickets start from $25 and can be purchased from the tournament website.

For more on the U.S. Open, follow the tournament on Twitter , Facebook and Instagram.

2018 Men’s FS Investments U.S. Open Squash Championships – Entry List
1) Mohamed ElShorbagy (EGY)
2) Ali Farag (EGY)
3) Marwan ElShorbagy (EGY)
4) Tarek Momen (EGY)
5) Simon Rösner (GER)
6) Miguel Angel Rodriguez (COL)
7) Gregory Gaultier (FRA)
8) Karim Abdel Gawad (EGY)
9) Paul Coll (NZL)
10) Diego Elias (PER)
11) Saurav Ghosal (IND)
12) Mohamed Abouelghar (EGY)
13) Omar Mosaad (EGY)
14) Ryan Cuskelly (AUS)
15) Daryl Selby (ENG)
16) James Willstrop (ENG)
17) Nicolas Mueller (SUI)
18) Max Lee (HKG)
19) Cameron Pilley (AUS)
20) Leo Au (HKG)
21) Declan James (ENG)
22) Cesar Salazar (MEX)
23) Tsz Fung Yip (HKG)
24) Mathieu Castagnet (FRA)
25) Borja Golan (ESP)
26) Abdulla Mohd Al Tamimi (QAT)
27) Gregoire Marche (FRA)
28) Greg Lobban (SCO)
29) Zahed Salem (EGY)
30) Tom Richards (ENG)
31) Mazen Hesham (EGY)
32) Lucas Serme (FRA)
33) Alan Clyne (SCO)
34) Campbell Grayson (NZL)
35) Joel Makin (WAL)
36) Chris Simpson (ENG)
37) Adrian Waller (ENG)
38) Karim Ali Fathi (EGY)
39) Omar Abdel Meguid (EGY)
40) Eain Yow Ng (MAS)
41) Arturo Salazar (MEX)
42) Ben Coleman (ENG)
43) Mohamed Reda (EGY)
44) Todd Harrity (USA)
45) Nathan Lake (ENG)
46) George Parker (ENG)
Wildcard) Andrew Douglas (USA)
Wildcard) Christopher Gordon (USA)

2018 Women’s FS Investments U.S. Open Squash Championships – Entry List
1) Nour El Sherbini (EGY)
2) Raneem El Welily (EGY)
3) Nour El Tayeb (EGY)
4) Joelle King (NZL)
5) Camille Serme (FRA)
6) Nouran Gohar (EGY)
7) Laura Massaro (ENG)
8) Sarah-Jane Perry (ENG)
9) Nicol David (MAS)
10) Alison Waters (ENG)
11) Annie Au (HKG)
12) Tesni Evans (WAL)
13) Victoria Lust (ENG)
14) Olivia Blatchford (USA)
15) Salma Hany (EGY)
16) Joshna Chinappa (IND)
17) Donna Lobban (AUS)
18) Amanda Sobhy (USA)
19) Dipika Pallikal Karthik (IND)
20) Hania El Hammamy (EGY)
21) Joey Chan (HKG)
22) Emily Whitlock (ENG)
23) Mariam Metwally (EGY)
24) Fiona Moverley (ENG)
25) Yathreb Adel (EGY)
26) Mayar Hany (EGY)
27) Millie Tomlinson (ENG)
28) Rachael Grinham (AUS)
29) Nadine Shahin (EGY)
30) Rowan Elaraby (EGY)
31) Nele Gilis (BEL)
32) Coline Aumard (FRA)
33) Hollie Naughton (CAN)
34) Amanda Landers-Murphy (NZL)
35) Zeina Mickawy (EGY)
36) Liu Tsz-Ling (HKG)
37) Milou van der Heijden (NED)
38) Nada Abbas (EGY)
39) Danielle Letourneau (CAN)
40) Haley Mendez (USA)
41) Julianne Courtice (ENG)
42) Alexandra Fuller (RSA)
43) Tinne Gilis (BEL)
44) Ho Tze-Lok (HKG)
45) Nikki Todd (CAN)
46) Tong Tsz-Wing (HKG)
Wildcard) Reeham Sedky (USA)
Wildcard) Olivia Fletcher (USA)

Join SQUASHTV and get closer to the PSA World Tour