Skip to content

Marwan ElShorbagy

Marwan ElShorbagy Withdraws from U.S. Open, Channel VAS Championships and Qatar Classic

World No.3 Marwan ElShorbagy has withdrawn from the upcoming FS Investments U.S. Open Squash Championships, Channel VAS Championships at St George’s Hill and Qatar Classic due to personal reasons.

U.S. Open Draw Changes

As a result of ElShorbagy’s withdrawal, Germany’s Simon Rösner moves up to the number four seeded position in the U.S. Open draw and receives a bye into round two, where he will play England’s Daryl Selby.

New Zealand’s Paul Coll rises to the number eight seeded position and will take on Peru’s Diego Elias in the second round, while Switzerland’s Nicolas Mueller replaces Coll and will play defending champion Ali Farag in the second round.

Mueller’s spot is taken by Scotland’s Alan Clyne, who plays England’s Nathan Lake in the opening round, while England’s Joshua Masters comes into the draw, and he will play Mexico’s Cesar Salazar in round one.

Channel VAS Championship Draw Changes

Egypt’s Karim Abdel Gawad rises to the number four seeded position and receives a bye through to the second round, while compatriot Omar Mosaad becomes the new number eight seed and will also receive a bye.

Scotland’s Greg Lobban takes Mosaad’s spot and will play tournament wildcard Charlie Lee in round one.

England’s Ben Coleman has been brought into the draw and will play Selby.

Revised Main Draw – 2018 Men’s FS Investments U.S. Open Squash Championships
[1] Mohamed ElShorbagy (EGY) (bye)
Todd Harrity (USA) v [9/32] Cameron Pilley (AUS)
[9/32] Saurav Ghosal (IND) v (bye)
Ben Coleman (ENG) v [9/32] Tom Richards (ENG)
[9/32] Alan Clyne (SCO) v Nathan Lake (ENG)
[9/32] Mohamed Abouelghar (EGY) [bye]
[9/32] Greg Lobban (SCO) v Campbell Grayson (NZL)
[7] Karim Abdel Gawad (EGY) [bye]
[8] Paul Coll (NZL [bye]
[9/32] Diego Elias (PER) [bye]
[9/32] Ryan Cuskelly (AUS) [bye]
[9/32] Omar Mosaad (EGY) [bye]
[9/32] Declan James (ENG) v [WC] Christopher Gordon (USA)
Adrian Waller (ENG) v [9/32] Borja Golan (ESP)
[9/32] James Willstrop (ENG) [bye]
[3] Tarek Momen (EGY) [bye]
[4] Simon Rösner (GER) [bye]
[9/32] Daryl Selby (ENG) [bye]
[9/32] Mazen Hesham (EGY) v George Parker (ENG)
Eain Yow Ng (MAS) v [9/32] Tsz Fung Yip (HKG)
[9/32] Max Lee (HKG) v Mohamed Reda (EGY)
Joshua Masters (ENG) v [9/32] Cesar Salazar (MEX)
[9/32] Lucas Serme (FRA) v Karim Ali Fathi (EGY)
[5] Miguel Angel Rodriguez (COL) (bye)
[6] Gregory Gaultier (FRA) (bye)
Chris Simpson (ENG) v [9/32] Gregoire Marche (FRA)
[9/32] Leo Au (HKG) v Omar Abdel Meguid (EGY)
Arturo Salazar (MEX) v [9/32] Zahed Salem (EGY)
[9/32] Mathieu Castagnet (FRA) v [WC] Andrew Douglas (USA)
Joel Makin (WAL) v [9/32] Abdulla Mohd Al Tamimi (QAT)
[9/32] Nicolas Mueller (SUI) [bye]
[2] Ali Farag (EGY) [bye]

Revised Main Draw – 2018 Channel VAS Championships at St George’s Hill
[1] Mohamed ElShorbagy (EGY) [bye]
Joel Makin (WAL) v [9/16] Raphael Kandra (GER)
[9/16] Daryl Selby (ENG) v Ben Coleman (ENG)
[6] Diego Elias (PER) [bye]
[5] Paul Coll (NZL) [bye]
Omar Abdel Meguid (EGY) v [9/16] James Willstrop (ENG)
[9/16] Cameron Pilley (AUS) v Chris Simpson (ENG)
[3] Tarek Momen (EGY) [bye]
[4] Karim Abdel Gawad (EGY) [bye]
[WC] Charlie Lee (ENG) v [9/16] Greg Lobban (SCO)
[9/16] Mathieu Castagnet (FRA) v Lucas Serme (FRA)
[7] Saurav Ghosal (IND) v [bye]
[8] Omar Mosaad (EGY) [bye]
Tom Richards (ENG) v [9/16] Borja Golan (ESP)
[9/16] Declan James (ENG) v Adrian Waller (ENG)
[2] Ali Farag (EGY) [bye]

2018 Qatar Classic – Draw
[1] Mohamed ElShorbagy (EGY) [bye]
[WC] Syed Azlan Amjad (QAT) v [9/32] Tsz Fung Yip (HKG)
[9/32] Alan Clyne (SCO) v Adrian Waller (ENG)
[9/32] Omar Mosaad (EGY) [bye]
[9/32] Daryl Selby (ENG) [bye]
Chris Simpson (ENG) v [9/32] Mazen Hesham (EGY)
[9/32] Raphael Kandra (GER) v Arturo Salazar (MEX)
[6] Gregory Gaultier (FRA) [bye]
[8] Ramy Ashour (EGY) [bye]
Joel Makin (WAL) v [9/32] Cesar Salazar (MEX)
[9/32] Borja Golan (ESP) v Todd Harrity (USA)
Nafiizwan Adnan (MAS) v [9/32] Greg Lobban (SCO)
[9/32] Tom Richards (ENG) v Mohamed Reda (EGY)
[9/32] Ryan Cuskelly (AUS) [bye]
[9/32] Nicolas Mueller (SUI) v Campbell Grayson (NZL)
[3] Simon Rösner (GER) [bye]
[3] Tarek Momen (EGY) [bye]
[9/32] Paul Coll (NZL) [bye]
[9/32] Diego Elias (PER) [bye]
[9/32] James Willstrop (ENG) [bye]
[9/32] Cameron Pilley (AUS) v [WC] Abdulrahman Al-Malki (QAT)
Youssef Soliman (EGY) v [9/32] Mathieu Castagnet (FRA)
[9/32] Max Lee (HKG) v Rex Hedrick (AUS)
[5] Miguel Angel Rodriguez (COL) [bye]
[7] Karim Abdel Gawad (EGY) [bye]
Eain Yow Ng (MAS) v [9/32] Abdulla Mohd Al Tamimi (QAT)
[9/32] Gregoire Marche (FRA) v Karim Ali Fathi (EGY)
Omar Abdel Meguid (EGY) v [9/32] Declan James (ENG)
[9/32] Leo Au (HKG) v Ben Coleman (HKG)
[9/32] Saurav Ghosal (IND) [bye]
[9/32] Mohamed Abouelghar (EGY) [bye]
[2] Ali Farag (EGY) [bye]

Join SQUASHTV and get closer to the PSA World Tour