Skip to content

Gregory Gaultier in action at the U.S. Open

Gaultier Ruled Out Until New Year

France’s former World No.1 Gregory Gaultier will not feature for the rest of 2018 due to having surgery following a knee injury.

The Frenchman will not feature at the Qatar Classic, Hong Kong Squash Open or Black Ball Squash Open in 2018.

Gaultier, who won the Qatar Classic in 2011, sustained an injury in his quarter-final match against Egypt’s World No.2 Ali Farag earlier this month at the U.S. Open. He has already undergone surgery to repair the damage to his right knee but there is no timescale on when he is likely to return to the court. The Frenchman will now be replaced by Peru’s World No.13 Diego Elias, who receives a bye into round two.

Hong Kong’s World No.14 Max Lee take’s Elias’ place in the draw and also gets a bye into the second round, where he will play England’s former World No.1 James Willstrop in round two.

Wales’ World No.33 Joel Makin comes into the draw and he will face Australia’s World No.51 Rex Hedrick in round one.

The Qatar Classic takes place between October 27 – November 2.

Follow the tournament on Facebook, Twitter or via the tournament website.

Everyone at the PSA would like to wish Greg well and a speedy recovery.

Revised draw – Qatar Classic 2018
[1] Mohamed ElShorbagy (EGY) [Bye]
[WC] Syed Azlan Amjad (QAT) v [17/32] Tsz Fung Yip (HKG)
[17/32] Alan Clyne (SCO) v Adrian Waller (ENG)
[9/16] Omar Mosaad (EGY) [Bye]
[9/16] Daryl Selby (ENG) [Bye]
Chris Simpson (ENG) v [17/32] Mazen Hesham (EGY)
[17/32] Raphael Kandra (GER) v Arturo Salazar (MEX)
[8] Diego Elias (PER) [Bye]
[7] Paul Coll (NZL) [Bye]
Peter Creed (WAL) v [17/32] Cesar Salazar (MEX)
[17/32] Borja Golan (ESP) v Nathan Lake (ENG)
Nafiizwan Adnan (MAS) v [17/32] Greg Lobban (SCO)
[17/32] Tom Richards (ENG) v Mohamed Reda (EGY)
[9/16] Ryan Cuskelly (AUS) [Bye]
[17/32] Campbell Grayson (NZL) v George Parker (ENG)
[4] Simon Rosner (GER) [Bye]
[3] Tarek Momen (EGY) [Bye]
[9/16] Nicolas Mueller (SUI) [Bye]
[9/16] Max Lee (HKG) [Bye]
[9/16] James Willstrop (ENG) [Bye]
[17/32] Cameron Pilley (AUS) v [WC] Abdulrahman Al-Malki (QAT)
Youssef Soliman (EGY) v [17/32] Mathieu Castagnet (FRA)
[17/32] Joel Makin (WAL) v Rex Hedrick (AUS)
[5] Miguel Angel Rodriguez (COL) [Bye]
[6] Karim Abdel Gawad (EGY) [Bye]
Eain Yow Ng (MAS) v [17/32] Abdulla Mohd Al Tamimi (QAT)
[17/32] Gregoire Marche (FRA) v Karim Ali Fathi (EGY)
Omar Abdel Meguid (EGY) v [17/32] Declan James (ENG)
[17/32] Leo Au (HKG) v Ben Coleman (ENG)
[9/16] Saurav Ghosal (IND) [Bye]
[9/16] Mohamed Abouelghar (EGY) [Bye]
[2] Ali Farag (EGY) [Bye]

Meanwhile at the Hong Kong Open, the movements to the men’s draw will see Egypt’s former World No.1 Karim Abdel Gawad replace Gaultier and receive a bye into round two.

Germany’s Raphael Kandra will replace Gawad in the draw and also receives a bye into round two. While Malaysia’s Nafiizwan Adnan will replace Kandra and face wildcard Henry Leung in round one.

Revised Hong Kong Open Men’s Draw
[1] Mohamed ElShorbagy (EGY) [Bye]
[9/16] Ryan Cuskelly (AUS) [Bye]
[17/32] Alan Clyne (SCO) v Campbell Grayson (NZL)
Omar Abdel Meguid (EGY) v [17/32] Tom Richards (ENG)
[17/32] Joel Makin (WAL) v [WC] Chi Him Wong (HKG)
[9/16] Ramy Ashour (EGY) [Bye]
[17/32] Leo Au (HKG) v Edmon Lopez (ESP)
[6] Paul Coll (NZL) [Bye]
[7] Mohamed Abouelghar (EGY) [Bye]
[WC] Henry Leung (HKG) v [17/32] Nafiizwan Adnan (MAS)
[17/32] Mathieu Castagnet (FRA) v Ben Coleman (ENG)
Joshua Masters (ENG) v [17/32] Chris Simpson (ENG)
[9/16] Joshua Masters (ENG) v [17/32] Chris Simpson (ENG)
[9/16] Raphael Kandra (GER) [Bye]
Todd Harrity (USA) v [17/32] Cesar Salazar (MEX)
[17/32] Cameron Pilley (AUS) v Rex Hedrick (AUS)
[3] Tarek Momen (EGY) [Bye]
[4] Simon Rosner (GER) [Bye]
Peter Creed (WAL) v [17/32] Adrian Waller (ENG)
[9/16] Nicolas Mueller (SUI) [Bye]
[9/16] Omar Mosaad (EGY) [Bye]
[17/32] Zahed Salem (EGY) v Karim El Hammamy (EGY)
Eain Yow Ng (MAS) v [17/32] Greg Lobban (SCO)
[9/16] Max Lee (HKG) [Bye]
[5] Miguel Angel Rodriguez (COL) [Bye]
[8] Karim Abdel Gawad (EGY) [Bye]
Nathan Lake (ENG) v [17/32] Lucas Serme (FRA)
[17/32] Tsz Fung Yip (HKG) v Olli Tuominen (FIN)
George Parker (ENG) v [17/32] Declan James (ENG)
[9/16] Saurav Ghosal (IND) [Bye]
[9/16] Diego Elias (PER) [Bye]
[17/32] Gregoire Marche (FRA) v Arturo Salazar (MEX)
[2] Ali Farag (EGY) [Bye]

Join SQUASHTV and get closer to the PSA World Tour