Skip to content

Mohamed ElShorbagy with last year's Qatar Classic trophy

Qatar Classic: Tournament History

The 2018 Men’s Qatar Classic will once again see the world’s top male players descend on the Khalifa International Tennis and Squash Complex in Doha as they battle it out for the PSA Platinum title between October 27 – November 2.

The first tournament began in 2001, with England’s Peter Nicol defeating Australia’s David Palmer in the final, before securing the title again against the same opponent the following year.

Former World No.1s Lee Beachill and James Willstrop kept the title in English hands either side of a short break in 2004 while the World Championship was held in Qatar, before Egyptian trio Ramy Ashour, Amr Shabana and Karim Darwish took up the mantle of the Qatar Classic champion over the next three tournaments.

Since then, some of the most famous names in squash have had their name adorned on the coveted trophy, with three-time World Champion Nick Matthew, reigning World No.1 Mohamed ElShorbagy and former World No.1 Gregory Gaultier – who is the only player outside of England and Egypt to lift the title – all triumphing in Doha.

Egypt’s Karim Abdel Gawad put his name on the trophy during a stellar season in 2016/17 after beating ElShorbagy in the final to seal his first World Series title, just a fortnight after he was crowned World Champion.

However, ElShorbagy got his revenge the following year as he defeated compatriot Tarek Momen by a 3-1 scoreline to lift his third title in Doha.

Previous Winners
2017 Mohamed ElShorbagy (EGY)
2016 Karim Abdel Gawad (EGY)
2015 Mohamed ElShorbagy (EGY)
2014 No event
2013 Mohamed ElShorbagy (EGY)
2012 No event
2011 Gregory Gaultier (FRA)
2010 Karim Darwish (EGY)
2009 Nick Matthew (ENG)
2008 Karim Darwish (EGY)
2007 (October) Amr Shabana (EGY)
2007 (April) Ramy Ashour (EGY)
2005 James Willstrop (ENG)
2004 No event
2003 Lee Beachill (ENG)
2002 Peter Nicol (ENG)
2001 Peter Nicol (ENG)

Join SQUASHTV and get closer to the PSA World Tour