Skip to content

Nour El Tayeb and Tesni Evans in action at the 2018 Windy City Open

El Tayeb and Evans Seeded to Meet in Cleveland Classic Final

Egypt’s World No.3 Nour El Tayeb and Wales’ World No.10 Tesni Evans are seeded to meet in the final of this month’s Cleveland Classic PSA Bronze tournament after the main draw was released today.

The tournament will take place at the Cleveland Racquet Club from January 31 – February 4, 2019 and will feature a strong female line-up battling for the PSA Bronze title.

El Tayeb is the top seed and has a strong record on American soil, with all three of her last title victories coming in the United States, including PSA Platinum title wins at the 2017 U.S. Open and 2018 Windy City Open.

El Tayeb, along with the other top eight seeds, receives a bye into the second round where she will face either Malaysia’s Rachel Arnold or Netherlands’ Milou van der Heijden.

The World No.3 is seeded on the same side of the draw as the likes of 2017 tournament finalist Alison Waters, England’s World No.21 Emily Whitlock and fellow Egyptian Nadine Shahin.

Meanwhile, at the opposite end of the draw is World No.10 Evans, who is seeded on the same side of the draw as England’s World No.15 Victoria Lust and Egyptians Mariam Metwally and Mayar Hany.

The Welshwoman, who finished runner-up at the Monte Carlo Classic last month, will face either Canada’s Danielle LeTourneau or United States’ Haley Mendez in the second round depending on who comes out on top in their round one clash.

The wildcard spot is occupied by Spain’s World No.132 Marina De Juan Gallach, who resides in Cleveland, and she will face Belgium’s World No.30 Nele Gilis in the opening round of action.

More information on the tournament can be found at the tournament website:

Cleveland Classic – Main Draw
[1] Nour El Tayeb (EGY) [Bye]
Rachel Arnold (MAS) v [9/16] Milou van der Heijden (NED)
[9/16] Nele Gilis (BEL) v [WC] Marina De Juan Gallach (ESP)
[5] Emily Whitlock (ENG) [Bye]
[8] Nadine Shahin (EGY) [Bye]
Nikki Todd (CAN) v [9/16] Hollie Naughton (CAN)
[9/16] Samantha Cornett (CAN) v Tinne Gilis (BEL)
[3] Alison Waters (ENG) [Bye]
[4] Victoria Lust (ENG) [Bye]
Lisa Aitken (SCO) v [9/16] Rowan Elaraby (EGY)
[9/16] Coline Aumard (FRA) v Lucy Turmel (ENG)
[6] Mariam Metwally (EGY) [Bye]
[7] Mayar Hany (EGY) [Bye]
Nicole Bunyan (CAN) v [9/16] Amanda Landers-Murphy (NZL)
[9/16] Danielle Letourneau (CAN) v Haley Mendez (USA)
[2] Tesni Evans (WAL) [Bye]

Join SQUASHTV and get closer to the PSA World Tour