Skip to content

Ramy Ashour

Ashour Withdraws from J.P. Morgan Tournament of Champions

Three-time J.P. Morgan Tournament of Champions winner Ramy Ashour has withdrawn from the 2019 edition of the PSA Platinum tournament after failing to recover from a knee injury.

The Egyptian former World No.1 was due to make his first appearance of the season having been absent from the PSA Tour since the British Open in May 2018.

His spot in the draw will be taken up by compatriot Youssef Soliman, while England’s Joshua Masters moves into the draw and will play Welshman Joel Makin in round one.

The J.P. Morgan Tournament of Champions takes place between January 16-24 at New York’s Grand Central Terminal and will be shown live on SQUASHTV (Rest of World) and Eurosport Player (Europe only).

Follow the tournament on Twitter, Facebook or visit the tournament website.

Revised Men’s Main Draw – 2019 J.P. Morgan Tournament of Champions
[1] Mohamed ElShorbagy (EGY) [bye]
Mazen Hesham (EGY) v [17/32] v Nicolas Mueller (SUI)
[17/32] Abdulla Mohd Al Tamimi (QAT) v Eain Yow Ng (MAS)
Karim Ali Fathi (EGY) v [17/32] Zahed Salem (EGY)
[17/32] Cameron Pilley (AUS) v Nathan Lake (ENG)
Ben Coleman (ENG) v [17/32] Tom Richards (ENG)
[9/16] Diego Elias (PER) [bye]
[5] Marwan ElShorbagy (EGY) [bye]
[8] Karim Abdel Gawad (EGY) [bye]
Joshua Masters (ENG) v [17/32] Joel Makin (WAL)
[9/16] Fares Dessouky (EGY) [bye]
George Parker (ENG) v [17/32] Mathieu Castagnet (FRA)
[17/32] Cesar Salazar (MEX) v Alan Clyne (SCO)
[9/16] Max Lee (HKG) [bye]
[9/16] Ryan Cuskelly (AUS) [bye]
[3] Simon Rösner (GER) [bye]
[4] Tarek Momen (EGY) [bye]
[9/16] Mohamed Abouelghar (EGY) [bye]
[17/32] Raphael Kandra (GER) v Gregoire Marche (FRA)
Lucas Serme (FRA) v [17/32] Declan James (ENG)
[17/32] Greg Lobban (SCO) v Arturo Salazar (MEX)
Chris Simpson (ENG) v [17/32] Borja Golan (ESP)
[17/32] Omar Mosaad (EGY) v [WC] Chris Hanson (USA)
[6] Miguel Angel Rodriguez (COL) [bye]
[7] Paul Coll (NZL) [bye]
Todd Harrity (USA) v [17/32] Tsz Fung Yip (HKG)
[9/16] Saurav Ghosal (IND) [bye]
Campbell Grayson (NZL) v [17/32] Leo Au (HKG)
[9/16] Daryl Selby (ENG) [bye]
[Pre-Qualifier] v [17/32] Youssef Soliman (EGY)
[9/16] James Willstrop (ENG) [bye]
[2] Ali Farag (EGY) [bye]

Join SQUASHTV and get closer to the PSA World Tour