Skip to content

Tesni Evans with the 2018 trophy

Four former champions gunning for British National glory

World No.6 Sarah-Jane Perry will headline a mouth-watering women’s draw after the seeds were announced today for the AJ Bell British National Squash Championships 2019.

In what promises to be one of the most hotly contested championships in recent years, four former British National champions currently ranked inside the World’s top ten will battle it out for the prestigious women’s title at Nottingham Squash Rackets Club and the University of Nottingham from 14-17 February.

Top seed Perry, the 2015 champion will be looking to continue her fine form after successfully defending her title at the NetSuite Open in September against current World Champion Raneem El Welily and edging World No.2 Nour El Sherbini in the quarter-finals of the Hong Kong Open. Perry, however has been unable to compete in January due to a long-standing elbow injury which has required treatment.

Joining the England No.1 are four-time National champions [2] Laura Massaro and ¾ Alison Waters ranked 7 and 9 in the world respectively.

Looking to defend her crown is Welsh No.1 ¾ Tesni Evans whose record-breaking 2018 saw the 26-year-old become the first Welsh player ever to win the Nationals and break into the World’s top ten rankings.

Hot on their heels and all capable of causing an upset is a quartet of young English players seeded [5/8] including World No.21 Emily Whitlock who lifted the biggest title of her career in September at the NASH Cup.

Likely to cause a serious upset is World No.25 Millie Tomlinson, the current European champion who overpowered eight-time World Champion Nicol David in November’s Hong Kong Open.

Joining Whitlock and Tomlinson is World No.15 Victoria Lust who will be striving to advance into her first final after reach the semis in 2015.
Similarly, World No.26 Fiona Moverley will be eager to advance to the last four after bowing out in the quarter-finals for the last four consecutive years.

The women’s qualifying event will take place on 12th and 13th February at Nottingham Squash Rackets Club with the top four advancing to the main draw.

AJ Bell British National Squash Championships 2019 – Women’s Entry List
[1] Sarah-Jane Perry (ENG)
[2] Laura Massaro (ENG)
¾ Alison Waters (ENG)
¾ Tesni Evans (WAL)
[5/8] Victoria Lust (ENG)
[5/8] Emily Whitlock (ENG)
[5/8] Millie Tomlinson (ENG)
[5/8] Fiona Moverley (ENG)
[9/12] Julianne Courtice (ENG)
[9/12] Lucy Turmel (ENG)
[9/12] Alison Thompson (SCO)
[9/12] Sarah Campion (ENG)

Join SQUASHTV and get closer to the PSA World Tour