Skip to content

James Willstrop (r) and Daryl Selby will headline the British Nationals

Willstrop headlines a quality Nationals draw

Former World No.1 James Willstrop will headline a top-class men’s draw when the AJ Bell British National Squash Championships gets under way in Nottingham on 14th February.

Willstrop will be making his 21st appearance at the British Nationals, and he will be aiming to claim a third title, and a first since 2008.

The 35-year-old Yorkshireman will be joined by some of the biggest names on the British circuit including 2011 champion and Commonwealth Games Silver medallist Daryl Selby who he’s seeded to meet in the final.

The trophy will be going to a different home this year, with ten-time champion, and winner of the last seven British Nationals, Nick Matthew, having recently retired.

Tom Richards and Declan James are ranked World No.20 and No.21, and will both be looking to reach the final for a first time.

Tom Richards will be aiming for his first Nationals title

November saw James edge top seed Willstrop in the final of the Open International de Squash de Nantes, and the full support of a vociferous home crowd could be enough to spur on the Nottingham-based star to triumph further.

Scottish No.1 Greg Lobban will be looking to better his quarter final appearance from 2018, and he is alongside George Parker, Chris Simpson and Adrian Waller as the 5/8 seeds.

A youthful quartet comprising of Nathan Lake, Joshua Masters, Richie Fallows and Charlie Lee all seeded 9/12 will be hungry for Nationals glory and looking to spring an upset on the more established players.

With Joel Makin withdrawing through an injury he suffered at the Tournament of Champions, Welsh hopes will be carried by qualifiers Elliot Morris Devred and Jayden Gough.

The men's qualifying event will take place on 12th and 13th February at Nottingham Squash Rackets Club and will see the top four advancing to the main draw, to make it a 16-strong field.

AJ Bell British National Squash Championships 2019 – Men’s Entry List
[1] James Willstrop (ENG)
[2] Daryl Selby (ENG)
[3-4] Tom Richards (ENG)
[3-4] Declan James (ENG)
[5/8] Greg Lobban (SCO)
[5/8] George Parker (ENG)
[5/8] Chris Simpson (ENG)
[5/8] Adrian Waller (ENG)
[9/12] Nathan Lake (ENG)
[9/12] Joshua Masters (ENG)
[9/12] Richie Fallows (ENG)
[9/12] Charlie Lee (ENG)

Join SQUASHTV and get closer to the PSA World Tour