Skip to content

Nour El Sherbini is the current women's World Champion, having triumphed in Chicago in February

PSA Women's World Championships: Tournament History

The biggest tournament in women’s squash will take place in front of the Pyramids in Giza later this month, when 64 of the world’s best players will compete at the CIB PSA Women’s World Championship 2019-20 from October 24 – November 1, with a men’s Platinum event, the CIB Egyptian Squash Open 2019 running alongside it.

The inaugural women’s World Championship took place in 1976, when the iconic Heather McKay lifted the first of her two titles, beating Marion Jackman on home soil in Brisbane, Australia.

Fellow Australians Rhona Thorne and Vicki Cardwell followed in McKay’s footsteps, before the legendary Susan Devoy became the first non-Australian player to get her hands on the coveted trophy in 1985, at which point the tournament was a biennial event.

Since then, the tournament has been staged all around the world, with the competition being held in countries such as the United States, Saudi Arabia, Australia, Hong Kong and Germany to name a few.

Martine Le Moignan was the first Englishwoman to capture the title, before Devoy took the next two titles in 1990 and 1992, with the tournament switching to an annual format from that point onwards.

Australia dominated the women’s event over the next decade, with Michelle Martin’s triumph in 1993 bringing about a period that saw the title shared between her (three wins), Sarah Fitz-Gerald (5) and Carol Owens (1) in nine of the ten tournaments held between 1993-2002.

England’s Cassie Campion was the only player to put a dent in the Australian dominance of the 90s, with her 1999 triumph over Martin seeing her become the first female English World Champion in 10 years.

Over the next few years, the legendary Malaysian Nicol David made her mark on the tournament, claiming her maiden World Championship title in Hong Kong in 2005 courtesy of a win over Australian Rachael Grinham, before retaining her title the following year with a win over Grinham’s younger sister, Natalie.

The Grinham sisters met in the final in 2007, with Rachel being the victor, but David responded with an incredible five wins on the bounce in an unprecedented spell of dominance.

That run eventually came to an end in the 2013 edition, which saw England’s Laura Massaro claim her first Worlds title in Penang, beating then 18-year-old Nour El Sherbini in the showpiece finale.

But El Sherbini soon got her hands on the sport’s biggest prize when she battled back from two games down to become the youngest ever women’s World Champion at the age of 20 – eclipsing the record set by Devoy 31 years earlier.

Since then, El Sherbini has made her mark on the tournament, also sealing the 2016 and 2018-19 editions when she beat compatriots Raneem El Welily and Nour El Tayeb in the respective finals.

El Welily got her revenge last season when she defeated El Sherbini in the final in Manchester to seal her first ever World Championship crown.

The pair will be the favourites to lift this year’s title, while World No.1 Ali Farag will be the favourite to win the CIB Egyptian Squash Open in front of the Pyramids.

Previous Winners – Women
2018-19 Nour El Sherbini (EGY)
2017 Raneem El Welily (EGY)
2016 Nour El Sherbini (EGY)
2015 Nour El Sherbini (EGY)
2014 Nicol David (MAS)
2013 Laura Massaro (ENG)
2012 Nicol David (MAS)
2011 Nicol David (MAS)
2010 Nicol David (MAS)
2009 Nicol David (MAS)
2008 Nicol David (MAS)
2007 Rachael Grinham (AUS)
2006 Nicol David (MAS)
2005 Nicol David (MAS)
2004 Vanessa Atkinson (NED)
2003 Carol Owens (NZL)
2002 Sarah Fitz-Gerald (AUS)
2001 Sarah Fitz-Gerald (AUS)
2000 Carol Owens (AUS)
1999 Cassie Campion (ENG)
1998 Sarah Fitz-Gerald (AUS)
1997 Sarah Fitz-Gerald (AUS)
1996 Sarah Fitz-Gerald (AUS)
1995 Michelle Martin (AUS)
1994 Michelle Martin (AUS)
1993 Michelle Martin (AUS)
1992 Susan Devoy (NZL)
1991 No competition
1990 Susan Devoy (NZL)
1989 Martine Le Moignan (ENG)
1988 No competition
1987 Susan Devoy (NZL)
1986 No competition
1985 Susan Devoy (NZL)
1984 No competition
1983 Vicki Cardwell (AUS)
1982 No competition
1981 Rhonda Thorne (AUS)
1980 No competition
1979 Heather McKay (AUS)
1978 No competition
1977 No competition
1976 Heather McKay (AUS)

Join SQUASHTV and get closer to the PSA World Tour