Skip to content

Jansher Khan (left) and Jahangir Khan (right) in action at the World Championship

Tournament History: Men's World Championship

The CIB PSA Women’s World Championship took place last week and now the biggest tournament in men’s squash will be taking place in Qatar this week as the world’s best players battle it out for the chance to be crowned World Champion in Doha between November 8-15.

This season’s event sees World No.2 Mohamed ElShorbagy top the draw following the withdrawl of reigning World Champion Ali Farag due to family reasons as the biggest tournament on the men’s tour takes place at the Khalifa International Tennis & Squash Complex in Doha, Qatar.

The inaugural men’s World Championship began in 1976 in London from January 31 to February 7 of that year – with the whole tournament being played at the old Wembley Stadium, home of the English football team.

Since then the tournament has been staged all around the world, with the competition being held in countries such as the United States, Saudi Arabia, Australia, Hong Kong and Germany to name a few.

Australian legend Geoff Hunt took the first men’s World Championship title after he beat Pakistan’s Mohibullah Khan in the final and he held onto it for a further three years after defeating Qamar Zaman on all three occasions, once in Canada and twice in his native country.

The next 16 years saw the men’s World Championship dominated by players from Pakistan and, more specifically, Jahangir and Jansher Khan, who between them won all but two World Championship titles between 1981 and 1996.

The two Khan’s are the most decorated players to have graced the men’s World Championship with Jansher having eight to his name, whilst Jahangir captured the title six times – and the pair are considered to be two of the greatest players ever to play the sport.

A host of the biggest names in squash have also lifted the illustrious title, with Amr Shabana (4), Ramy Ashour (3), Nick Matthew (3), David Palmer (2) and more recently Mohamed ElShorbagy and Ali Farag all having their names engraved on the famous trophy.

Tickets for this season’s tournament are available for purchase through the Qatar Squash Federation website. Squash fans can also follow the tournament on Twitter and Facebook.

Previous Winners – Men
2019 – Ali Farag (EGY)
2017 – Mohamed ElShorbagy (EGY)
2016 – Karim Abdel Gawad (EGY)
2015 – Gregory Gaultier (FRA)
2014 – Ramy Ashour (EGY)
2013 – Nick Matthew (ENG)
2012 – Ramy Ashour (EGY)
2011 – Nick Matthew (ENG)
2010 – Nick Matthew (ENG)
2009 – Amr Shabana (EGY)
2008 – Ramy Ashour (EGY)
2007 – Amr Shabana (EGY)
2006 – David Palmer (AUS)
2005 – Amr Shabana (EGY)
2004 – Thierry Lincou (FRA)
2003 – Amr Shabana (EGY)
2002 – David Palmer (AUS)
2001 – No competition
2000 – No competition
1999 – Peter Nicol (SCO)
1998 – Jonathon Power (CAN)
1997 – Rodney Eyles (AUS)
1996 – Jansher Khan (PAK)
1995 – Jansher Khan (PAK)
1994 – Jansher Khan (PAK)
1993 – Jansher Khan (PAK)
1992 – Jansher Khan (PAK)
1991 – Rodney Martin (AUS)
1990 – Jansher Khan (PAK)
1989 – Jansher Khan (PAK)
1988 – Jahangir Khan (PAK)
1987 – Jansher Khan (PAK)
1986 – Ross Norman (NZL)
1985 – Jahangir Khan (PAK)
1984 – Jahangir Khan (PAK)
1983 – Jahangir Khan (PAK)
1982 – Jahangir Khan (PAK)
1981 – Jahangir Khan (PAK)
1980 – Geoff Hunt (AUS)
1979 – Geoff Hunt (AUS)
1978 – No competition
1977 – Geoff Hunt (AUS)
1976 – Geoff Hunt (AUS)

Join SQUASHTV and get closer to the PSA World Tour