Skip to content

Miguel Rodriguez in action at the Oracle NetSuite Open in San Francisco

Rodriguez Withdraws From Tournament of Champions

World No.10 Miguel Rodriguez has withdrawn from the J.P. Morgan Tournament of Champions, the first tournament of the new decade, through injury.

The Colombian featured for his country at the WSF Men’s World Team Championships in Washington, D.C. in December, but has been battling with an ongoing injury problem.

His last PSA World Tour appearance came at the PSA Men’s World Championship 2019-2020 in Qatar, where he lost out in the last 16 to Egypt’s Zahed Salem.

Todd Harrity, the US No.1, takes the place in the main draw, just 24 hours on from missing out on a place in the tournament, after being beaten by compatriot Christopher Gordon in the wildcard playoff.

Harrity featured in the event in 2019, where he made it through to the second round after defeated the higher-ranked Tsz Fung Yip, another of the men to move around in the draw as a consequence of the Colombian’s withdrawal.

Former World No.1 James Willstrop takes Rodriguez’s spot in the draw, and receives a bye through to the second round. Tsz Fung Yip will move up into what was Willstrop’s spot in the draw to face Mahesh Mangaonkar.

Movements are as follows:
James Willstrop replaces Miguel Rodriguez and receives a Bye (James will now play on the Glass Court on 11/01/2019 at 14:45)
Tsz Fung Yip replaces James Willstrop and plays Mahesh Mangaonkar. (This match will now take place at Harvard Club at 18:15)
Todd Harrity (Reserve) replaces Tsz Fung Yip and plays Leo Au. (This match will now take place on the Glass Court at 19:45)

Revised J.P. Morgan Tournament of Champions Men’s Draw
[1] Ali Farag (EGY) – [Bye]
Alan Clyne (SCO) v Mazen Hesham (EGY)
Nicolas Mueller (SUI) v Youssef Soliman (EGY)
Baptiste Masotti (FRA) v Adrian Waller (ENG)
Tom Richards (ENG) v Karim El Hammamy (EGY)
Todd Harrity (USA) v Leo Au (HKG)
Lucas Serme (FRA) v Abdulla Mohd Al Tamimi (QAT)
[5] Paul Coll (NZL) – [Bye]
[8] Mohamed Abouelghar (EGY) – [Bye]
Ramit Tandon (IND) v Mostafa Asal (EGY)
[9/16] Gregory Gaultier (FRA) – [Bye]
[9/16] Omar Mosaad (EGY) – [Bye]
Eain Yow Ng (MAS) v George Parker (ENG)
Arturo Salazar (MEX) v Mathieu Castagnet (FRA)
[9/16] Marwan ElShorbagy (EGY) – [Bye]
[4] Tarek Momen (EGY) – [Bye]
[3] Karim Abdel Gawad (EGY) – [Bye]
Ivan Yuen (MAS) v Iker Pajares Bernabeu (ESP)
Tsz Fung Yip (HKG) v Mahesh Mangaonkar (IND)
Mohamed ElSherbini (EGY) v Declan James (ENG)
Cesar Salazar (MEX) v [WC] Chris Hanson (USA)
[9/16] Saurav Ghosal (IND) – [Bye]
Campbell Grayson (NZL) v Edmon Lopez (ESP)
[6] Simon Rösner (GER) – [Bye]
[7] Diego Elias (PER) – [Bye]
[9/16] Joel Makin (WAL) – [Bye]
[9/16] James Willstrop (ENG) – [Bye]
Max Lee (HKG) v Greg Lobban (SCO)
[9/16] Zahed Salem (EGY) – [Bye]
[9/16] Gregoire Marche (FRA) – [Bye]
Ryan Cuskelly (AUS) v [WC] Christopher Gordon (USA)
[2] Mohamed ElShorbagy (EGY) – [Bye]

Join SQUASHTV and get closer to the PSA World Tour