Skip to content

Nour El Sherbini (right) v Nour El Tayeb (left) during the 2018 Windy City Open

Main Draws Released for Windy City Open

The main draws for the 2020 Windy City Open presented by the Walter Family have been released, with men’s World No.2 Ali Farag and women’s World No.4 Nour El Sherbini returning to Chicago a year on from their historic World Championship triumphs inside Union Station’s Great Hall.

That World Championship – the sport’s first $1,000,000 tournament – replaced the 2018-19 Windy City Open on the PSA World Tour calendar, but the PSA World Tour Platinum returns between February 27 – March 4 with a host of blockbuster fixtures in store in the University Club of Chicago’s iconic Cathedral Hall.

Farag begins his tournament with a bye, but is seeded to lock horns with two-time winner Gregory Gaultier in a mouthwatering third round encounter.

Gaultier made a triumphant return from a 15-month injury lay off at the J.P. Morgan Tournament of Champions last month against former World No.3 Omar Mosaad, and he is predicted to face the Egyptian once again in round two in Chicago, a repeat of their World Championship final meeting in 2015, in which Gaultier prevailed.

Stars such as World Champion Tarek Momen, World No.7 Diego Elias and two-time runner-up Marwan ElShorbagy are seeded on the same side of the draw as Farag and Gaultier. The bottom half of the men’s draw features two-time winner Mohamed ElShorbagy – the reigning champion who reclaimed the World No.1 ranking on February 1 – former World No.1 Karim Abdel Gawad and World Championship runner-up Paul Coll.

El Sherbini recieves a bye in round one of the women's draw and could come up against United States duo Olivia Fiechter and Olivia Blatchford Clyne in rounds two and three if they make it past their respective opponents.

In the last eight, the four-time World Champion is seeded to play Tournament of Champions winner Camille Serme in a repeat of their final battle inside New York’s Grand Central Terminal last month, while defending champion Nour El Tayeb – El Sherbini’s final opponent in Chicago last March when she lifted a third World Championship crown – could await her in the semi-finals.

World No.1 Raneem El Welily is the most successful player ever at the Windy City Open with three successive wins in 2015-2017 and she will kickstart her attempts to become the first person to win four titles here against either England’s Julianne Courtice or Canada’s Danielle Letourneau in round two.

New Zealand’s Joelle King is seeded to meet the Egyptian in the last eight, while World No.2 Nouran Gohar is her predicted semi-final opponent if results go to seedings.

Men’s wildcard Shahjahan Khan faces Hong Kong’s Leo Au in the opening round, while his female counterpart Hana Moataz lines up against Belgium’s Nele Gilis.

The Windy City Open is the most lucrative tournament on the PSA World Tour outside of the World Championship, with $500,000 on offer split evenly across the men’s and women’s events. A spot at June’s PSA World Tour Finals will also be up for grabs.

The World Tour Finals brings together the world’s top eight male and female players and features the reigning World Champions as well as all PSA Platinum title winners. The other places will be allocated to the highest ranked players on the Road to Egypt Standings, with points on offer at all PSA World Tour events throughout the 2019/20 season.

Tickets for the 2020 Windy City Open presented by the Walter Family are available for purchase at

Fixtures from the glass court at the University Club of Chicago will be streamed live on SQUASHTV (rest of world), Eurosport Player (Europe only) and the official Facebook page of the PSA World Tour (excluding Europe and Japan).

For more information on the 2020 Windy City Open, visit the tournament’s official website or follow the event on Twitter or Facebook.

Men's Draw – 2020 Windy City Open presented by the Walter Family
[1] Ali Farag (EGY) [bye]
[WC] Shahjahan Khan (USA) v [17/32] Leo Au (HKG)
[9/16] Gregory Gaultier (FRA) [bye]
Ramit Tandon (IND) v [17/32] Omar Mosaad (EGY)
[9/16] Gregoire Marche (FRA) [bye]
[9/16] Joel Makin (WAL) [bye]
[9/16] Fares Dessouky (EGY) [bye]
[6] Diego Elias (PER) [bye]
[8] Marwan ElShorbagy (EGY) [bye]
Youssef Soliman (EGY) v [17/32] Mostafa Asal (EGY)
[17/32] Borja Golan (ESP) v Tayyab Aslam (PAK)
Baptiste Masotti (FRA) v [17/32] Nicolas Mueller (SUI)
[17/32] Iker Pajares Bernabeu (ESP) v Alan Clyne (SCO)
Arturo Salazar (MEX) v [17/32] Campbell Grayson (NZL)
[17/32] Raphael Kandra (GER) v Edmon Lopez (ESP)
[3] Tarek Momen (EGY) [bye]
[4] Karim Abdel Gawad (EGY) [bye]
[9/16] Miguel Rodriguez (COL) [bye]
[9/16] Saurav Ghosal [bye]
Ivan Yuen (MAS) v [17/32] Mathieu Castagnet (FRA)
[17/32] Adrian Waller (ENG) v Eain Yow Ng (MAS)
[9/16] Zahed Salem (EGY) [bye]
[9/16] Mohamed Abouelghar (EGY) [bye]
[7] Simon Rösner (GER) [bye]
[5] Paul Coll (NZL) [bye]
Max Lee (HKG) v [17/32] Greg Lobban (SCO)
[17/32] Declan James (ENG) v Tsz Fung Yip (HKG)
Abdulla Mohd Al Tamimi (QAT) v [17/32] Tom Richards (ENG)
[17/32] Cesar Salazar (MEX) v Vikram Malhotra (IND)
Mohamed ElSherbini (EGY) v [17/32] Mazen Hesham (EGY)
[17/32] Daryl Selby (ENG) v Lucas Serme (FRA)
[2] Mohamed ElShorbagy (EGY) [bye]

Women's Draw – 2020 Windy City Open presented by the Walter Family
[1] Raneem El Welily (EGY) [bye]
Danielle Letourneau (CAN) v [17/32] Julianne Courtice (ENG)
[17/32] Nele Gilis (BEL) v [WC] Hana Moataz (USA)
[14] Salma Hany (EGY) [bye]
[9] Tesni Evans (WAL) [bye]
Lisa Aitken (SCO) v [17/32] Emily Whitlock (ENG)
[17/32] Nadine Shahin (EGY) v Mayar Hany (EGY)
[6] Joelle King (NZL) [bye]
[7] Amanda Sobhy [bye]
Liu Tsz-Ling (HKG) v [17/32] Milou van der Heijden (NED)
[17/32] Hollie Naughton (CAN) v Sivasangari Subramaniam (MAS)
[11] Annie Au (HKG) [bye]
[13] Alison Waters (ENG) [bye]
Tze Lok Ho (HKG) v [17/32] Millie Tomlinson (ENG)
[17/32] Low Wee Wern (MAS) v Jasmine Hutton (ENG)
[3] Nouran Gohar (EGY) [bye]
[4] Nour El Tayeb (EGY) [bye]
Coline Aumard (FRA) v [17/32] Rowan Elaraby (EGY)
[17/32] Rachael Grinham (AUS) v Lucy Turmel (ENG)
[15] Victoria Lust (ENG) [bye]
[16] Yathreb Adel (EGY) [bye]
Sabrina Sobhy (USA) v [17/32] Nada Abbas (EGY)
[17/32] Zeina Mickawy (EGY) v Melissa Alves (FRA)
[8] Sarah-Jane Perry (ENG) [bye]
[5] Camille Serme (FRA) [bye]
Alexandra Fuller (RSA) v [17/32] Mariam Metwally (EGY)
[17/32] Tinne Gilis (BEL) v Haley Mendez (USA)
[10] Hania El Hammamy (EGY) [bye]
[12] Joshna Chinappa (IND) [bye]
Donna Lobban (AUS) v [17/32] Olivia Blatchford Clyne (USA)
[17/32] Joey Chan (HKG) v Olivia Fiechter (USA)
[2] Nour El Sherbini (EGY) [bye]

Join SQUASHTV and get closer to the PSA World Tour