Skip to content

Leonel Cardenas in action against Daniel Mekbib during the 2020 Oregon Open


We’re asking squash fans to get involved in the voting for the annual PSA Awards – and voting for the 2019/20 PSA Challenger Tour Male Player of the Year is now open.

Your votes will be combined with those made by the PSA Awards Committee – a group consisting of selected influential former players, members of the media, tournament promoters and PSA Board representatives.

The shortlists for the other categories will be released every day for the next week.

Public voting for all awards will close at 23:30 (GMT+1) on Sunday June 7, before the awards will be announced via a PSA Awards show on the PSA World Tour Facebook page on Monday June 15 at 19:00 (GMT+1).

Read below to see who the main contenders are, and cast your vote to help crown this year’s winners.

PSA Challenger Tour – Male Player of the Year
Awarded to the male player who best demonstrates outstanding achievement on the Challenger Tour during the season.

Leonel Cardenas
Season Highlights
Kelowna Open – Winner
Securian Open – Winner
Saskatoon Boast Open – Runner-up
Oregon Open – Runner-up
Manitoba Open – Runner-up

Ryosei Kobayashi
Season Highlights
North Coast Open – Winner
Haining Open – Winner
Hampshire Open – Winner
Melbourne Open – Runner-up

Nathan Lake
Season Highlights
Texas Open – Winner
EM Noll Classic – Winner
Manitoba Open – Winner

Vikram Malhotra
Season Highlights
Indian Tour Delhi Leg – Winner
Florida Open – Winner
Oregon Open – Winner
NASH Cup – Runner-up

Moustafa El Sirty
Season Highlights
Egyptian Tour Shams – Winner
Egyptian Tour Port Said – Winner
Airport Challenger – Winner
Australian Open – Runner-up
Shepparton International – Runner-up
QSF No.3 – Runner-up

Or do you think someone else deserves the award?

Cast your vote now.

Created with Quiz Maker

The PSA Awards winners are determined by a multi-part voting process comprising of a public vote, cast by squash fans, and a vote cast by the PSA Awards Panel.

The PSA Awards Panel nominate players in a first / second / third format in each category, with each position counting as a certain number of points towards a players total overall score. The results of the public vote are then added to the votes cast by the Awards Panel to determiner the overall winners.

Join SQUASHTV and get closer to the PSA World Tour