Players from four different countries secured qualifying places in the London Open, the PSA Challenger 10 event in its fifth year at the Cumberland Lawn Tennis Club in the England capital.

UK-based Austrian Aqeel Rehman (pictured) beat England’s Anthony Graham 11-8, 11-9, 11-5 and will make his first appearance in the event’s main draw against English favourite Jonathan Kemp.

Joel Hinds boosted home interest in the event by upsetting higher-ranked Frenchman Yann Perrin 11-8, 4-11, 11-4, 11-6. The Birmingham-based 25-year-old will now take Danish champion Kristian Frost Olesen in the first round.

Pakistan’s Nasir Iqbal denied a further English place in the main draw by defeating Nottingham’s Declan James 11-8, 12-10, 6-11, 11-5. The Peshawar teenager will now line up against England’s Charles Sharpes.

Scotland’s Greg Lobban claimed his second successive upset in the qualifiers when he beat Irish number one Arthur Gaskin 6-11, 11-7, 11-5, 11-2. The Inverness-born 20-year-old had already taken out fancied New Zealander Kashif Shuja – and now meets Dane Rasmus Nielsen in the opening round.

Updated 1st round draw:
1 Jonathan Kemp (ENG) v [Q] Aqeel Rehman (AUT)
Karim Ali Fathi (EGY) v Abid Ak Khan (PAK)
Kristian Frost Olesen (DEN) v [Q] Joel Hinds (ENG)
4 Kamran Khan (MAS) v Eddie Charlton (ENG)
3 Robbie Temple (ENG) v Raphael Kandra (GER)
Charles Sharpes (ENG) v [Q] Nasir Iqbal (PAK)
Rasmus Nielsen (DEN) v [Q] Greg Lobban (SCO)
2 Chris Ryder (ENG) v Jens Schoor (GER)

Qualifying finals:
Joel Hinds (ENG) bt Yann Perrin (FRA) 11-8, 4-11, 11-4, 11-6 (45m)
Aqeel Rehman (AUT) bt Anthony Graham (ENG) 11-8, 11-9, 11-5
Nasir Iqbal (PAK) bt Declan James (ENG) 11-8, 12-10, 6-11, 11-5
Greg Lobban (SCO) bt Arthur Gaskin (IRL) 6-11, 11-7, 11-5, 11-2

1st qualifying round:
Yann Perrin (FRA) bt Alejandro Garbi Caro (ESP) 7-11, 11-9, 11-4, 11-5 (39m)
Joel Hinds (ENG) bt Reuben Phillips (ENG) 11-6, 11-6, 6-11, 11-3 (33m)
Anthony Graham (ENG) bt Aqib Hanif (PAK) 7-11, 12-10, 5-11, 11-6, 11-9 (72m)
Aqeel Rehman (AUT) bt James Earles (ENG) 9-11, 11-7, 11-5, 11-8
Nasir Iqbal (PAK) bt Harinder Pal Sandhu (IND) 11-7, 7-11, 11-9, 13-11 (62m)
Declan James (ENG) bt Elvinn Keo (MAS) 4-11, 11-6, 13-11, 11-9
Arthur Gaskin (IRL) bt Richard Birks (ENG) 11-8, 11-6, 10-12, 11-6 (52m)
Greg Lobban (SCO) bt Kashif Shuja (NZL) 11-7, 8-11, 12-10, 11-4