Skip to content

Abdulla Mohd Al Tamimi

Al Tamimi Withdraws From Upcoming Qatar Q-Terminals Classic

World No.35 Abdulla Mohd Al Tamimi has withdrawn from the upcoming Qatar Q-Terminals Classic, which takes place at the Khalifa International Tennis and Squash Complex in Doha from October 17-23.

The Qatari No.1, who always has a big following when he plays in front of his home crowd, injured his calf at the CIB Egyptian Open, and also missed the U.S. Open presented by Truist earlier this month.

England’s Patrick Rooney replaces Al Tamimi in the 17/32 seeding bracket, and will now play Hong Kong’s Tsz Fung Yip on the opening day of the tournament.

Japanese No.1 Ryosei Kobayashi comes into the draw, taking the spot originally held by Rooney, and plays Switzerland’s Nicolas Mueller in the first round.

Updated First Round Draw: Qatar Q-Terminals Classic
[1] Mohamed ElShorbagy (EGY) – [Bye]
[9/16] Youssef Ibrahim (EGY) – [Bye]
[9/16] Mazen Hesham (EGY) – [Bye]
Bernat Jaume (ESP) v [17/32] George Parker (ESP)
[17/32] Greg Lobban (SCO) v Ramit Tandon (IND)
Tsz Fung Yip (HKG) v [17/32] Patrick Rooney (ENG)
[17/32] Iker Pajares Bernabeu v Dimitri Steinmann (SUI)
[8] Joel Makin (WAL) – [Bye]
[6] Diego Elias (PER) – [Bye]
[WC] Syed Azlan Amjad (QAT) v [17/32] Declan James (ENG)
[17/32] Cesar Salazar (MEX) v Sebastien Bonmalais (FRA)
[9/16] Gregoire Marche (FRA) – [Bye]
[17/32] Raphael Kandra (GER) v [WC] Abdulrahman Al-Malki (QAT)
Mahesh Mangaonkar (IND) v [17/32] Alan Clyne (SCO)
[17/32] Borja Golan (ESP) v Todd Harrity (USA)
[4] Marwan ElShorbagy (EGY) – [Bye]
[3] Tarek Momen (EGY) – [Bye]
Faraz Khan (USA) v [17/32] James Willstrop (ENG)
[17/32] Lucas Serme (FRA) v Vikram Malhotra (IND)
Shahjahan Khan (USA) v [17/32] Tom Richards (ENG)
[9/16] Youssef Soliman (EGY) – [Bye]
[9/16] Omar Mosaad (EGY) – [Bye]
[9/16] Saurav Ghosal (IND) – [Bye]
[7] Mostafa Asal (EGY) – [Bye]
[5] Karim Abdel Gawad (EGY) – [Bye]
[9/16] Mohamed Abouelghar (EGY) – [Bye]
[17/32] Adrian Waller (ENG) v Nathan Lake (ENG)
Arturo Salazar (MEX) v [17/32] Mohamed ElSherbini (EGY)
[17/32] Nicolas Mueller (SUI) v Ryosei Kobayashi (JPN)
[9/16] Baptiste Masotti (FRA) – [Bye]
[17/32] Mathieu Castagnet (FRA) v Richie Fallows (ENG)
[2] Paul Coll (NZL) – [Bye]

Join SQUASHTV and get closer to the PSA World Tour