Skip to content

New York's Grand Central Terminal

Draws Released For J.P. Morgan Tournament Of Champions

The draws for the 2022 J.P. Morgan Tournament of Champions (ToC) have been announced, as the PSA World Tour Platinum event returns to New York’s iconic Grand Central Terminal between January 13-21 following a COVID-enforced hiatus.

The tournament sees 96 of the world’s top squash players battle it out under the chandeliers of Grand Central Terminal’s picturesque Vanderbilt Hall, where they will do battle for a $360,000 prize fund, which is split equally across the men’s and women’s events.

In the men’s draw, top seed and World No.1 Ali Farag will be hoping to recapture the crown from his compatriot, World No.3 Mohamed ElShorbagy. Farag, who claimed his only ToC title in 2019, begins in round two against fellow Egyptian Youssef Soliman and is seeded to meet 2020 runner up Tarek Momen in the semi-final, before a potential final showdown with New Zealand’s No.2 seed Paul Coll.

Coll, who this month became the first male Kiwi since 1987 to reach the world’s top two, goes into the tournament aiming to be only the second non-Egyptian to win the men’s title since 2012. Coll begins against Egypt’s Mohamed Abouelghar in round two and is seeded to meet ElShorbagy in the last four.

Flying the flag for home fans will be Shahjahan Khan, Todd Harrity, Christopher Gordon and Jamie Ruggiero. World No.37 Khan plays in his first ToC, while World No.42 Harrity will be hoping to advance beyond the second round for the first time.

For wildcards Gordon and Ruggiero, ranked World No.65 and World No.222 respectively, tough opening round matches against Spain’s Borja Golan and England’s Declan James await.

In the women’s draw, Egyptian World No.1 and three-time champion Nour El Sherbini is favourite to claim the honours, having lost in the final of the last edition to France’s Camille Serme.

Potentially awaiting El Sherbini in the semi-final is the U.S.A’s World No.3 Amanda Sobhy. Sobhy, a runner up in 2016, will be determined to go deep in the competition after a last 32 finish in 2020.

Elsewhere, World No.2 Nouran Gohar will head to New York looking to capture her first ToC title. The 24-year-old will no doubt take optimism from her form on U.S. courts in 2021, having won the DAC Pro Squash Classic in Detroit and the U.S. Open in Philadelphia, as well as making the final of the World Championships in Chicago.

Alongside Sobhy, home fans will be cheering on World No.11 Olivia Clyne, World No.13 Olivia Fiechter, World No.26 Sabrina Sobhy and World No.38 Haley Mendez.

There is one final place up for grabs in the women’s draw, with France’s Marie Stephan and England’s Lily Taylor set for a playoff the day before the event as they compete for the right to join Canada’s Nicole Bunyan as a wildcard. The winner of that bout will face Belgium’s Tinne Gilis in the first round.

Global streaming coverage is provided by SQUASHTV, while the semi finals and finals will be shown by PSA’s broadcast partners. .

To buy tickets and for more information, visit Follow the ToC on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram.

2021 J.P. Morgan Tournament of Champions: Men’s Draw
[1] Ali Farag (EGY) [bye]
[9/16] Youssef Soliman (EGY) [bye]
[9/16] Baptiste Masotti (FRA) [bye]
Auguste Dussourd (FRA) v [17/32] Iker Pajares Bernabeu (ESP)
[17/32] Lucas Serme (FRA) v Dimitri Steinmann (SUI)
Tsz Fung Yip (HKG) v [17/32] Adrian Waller (ENG)
[9/16] Saurav Ghosal (IND) [bye]
[6] Marwan ElShorbagy (EGY) [bye]
[7] Joel Makin (WAL) [bye]
Alan Clyne (SCO) v [17/32] Mathieu Castagnet (FRA)
[17/32] Declan James (ENG) v [WC] Jamie Ruggiero (USA)
Nathan Lake (ENG) v [17/32] Nicolas Mueller (SUI)
[9/16] Eain Yow Ng (MAS) [bye]
Sebastien Bonmalais (FRA) v [17/32] Omar Mosaad (EGY)
[9/16] Karim Abdel Gawad (EGY) [bye]
[4] Tarek Momen (EGY) [bye]
[3] Mohamed ElShorbagy (EGY) [bye]
Tayyab Aslam (PAK) v [17/32] Cesar Salazar (MEX)
[17/32] George Parker (ENG) v Tom Richards (ENG)
[WC] Christopher Gordon (USA) v [17/32] Borja Golan (ESP)
[9/16] Mazen Hesham (EGY) [bye]
Arturo Salazar (MEX) v [17/32] James Willstrop (ENG)
[17/32] Mohamed ElSherbini (EGY) v Ramit Tandon (IND)
[8] Fares Dessouky (EGY) [bye]
[5] Diego Elias (PER) [bye]
Todd Harrity (USA) v [17/32] Greg Lobban (SCO)
[17/32] Patrick Rooney (ENG) v Abdulla Mohd Al Tamimi (QAT)
Shahjahan Khan (USA) v [17/32] Raphael Kandra (GER)
[9/16] Gregoire Marche (FRA) [bye]
Moustafa El Sirty (EGY) v [17/32] Karim El Hammamy (EGY)
[9/16] Mohamed Abouelghar (EGY) [bye]
[2] Paul Coll (NZL) [bye]

2021 J.P. Morgan Tournament of Champions: Women’s Draw
[1] Nour El Sherbini (EGY) [bye]
Haley Mendez (USA) v [17/32] Sabrina Sobhy (USA)
[17/32] Danielle Letourneau (CAN) v Liu Tsz-Ling (HKG)
[WC] Nicole Bunyan (CAN) v [17/32] Lisa Aitken (SCO)
[9/16] Nadine Shahin (EGY) [bye]
[9/16] Joshna Chinappa (IND) [bye]
[9/16] Tesni Evans (WAL) [bye]
[8] Salma Hany (EGY) [bye]
[7] Joelle King (NZL) [bye]
Millie Tomlinson (ENG) v [17/32] Melissa Alves (FRA)
[17/32] Zeina Mickawy (EGY) v Mayar Hany (EGY)
Anna Serme (CZE) v [17/32] Emily Whitlock (WAL)
[9/16] Nele Gilis (BEL) [bye]
Enora Villard (FRA) v [17/32] Nada Abbas (EGY)
[17/32] Alexandra Fuller (RSA) v Tze Lok Ho (HKG)
[3] Amanda Sobhy (USA) [bye]
[4] Hania El Hammamy (EGY) [bye]
[9/16] Olivia Clyne (USA) [bye]
[17/32] Lucy Turmel (ENG) v Yathreb Adel (EGY)
[Wildcard] v [17/32] Tinne Gilis (BEL)
[17/32] Aifa Azman (MAS) v Ineta Mackevica (LAT)
Mariam Metwally (EGY) v [17/32] Hollie Naughton (CAN)
[17/32] Donna Lobban (AUS) v Menna Hamed (EGY)
[6] Camille Serme (FRA) [bye]
[5] Sarah-Jane Perry (ENG) [bye]
[9/16] Nour El Tayeb (EGY) [bye]
[17/32] Georgina Kennedy (ENG) v Milou van der Heijden (NED)
[9/16] Olivia Fiechter (USA) [bye]
[17/32] Jasmine Hutton (ENG) v Rachel Arnold (MAS)
[9/16] Rowan Elaraby (EGY) [bye]
[17/32] Julianne Courtice (ENG) v Emilia Soini (FIN)
[2] Nouran Gohar (EGY) [bye]

Join SQUASHTV and get closer to the PSA World Tour