Skip to content

Ali Farag in action

How to Watch the Houston Open: Preview & Guide

The Houston Open begins at 12:00 (GMT-6) tomorrow, Tuesday January 4, as the PSA World Tour Gold level event kicks off the calendar year.

The tournament will be the first of 2022, and the first event on the SQUASHTV cameras on American soil since Mostafa Asal and Nouran Gohar took the titles at the U.S. Open presented by Truist in Philadelphia in October.

You can watch all the action LIVE on SQUASHTV.

You can also keep up to date with all the live scores from the tournament here

For more information on the tournament, as well as the option of buying tickets, visit the Houstn Squash Club site.

World No.1 Ali Farag goes into the tournament aiming to start his 2022 off on the right foot, having lost his last two finals, at the Canary Wharf Classic and the CIB Squash Open Black Ball, both to New Zealand’s Paul Coll.

The Kiwi does not feature in Houston this week, instead with the top four seeds all being Egyptian, with Mohamed ElShorbagy, Mostafa Asal and Marwan ElShorbagy representing Farag’s nearest challengers for the crown.

Miguel Rodriguez and Mazen Hesham, along with Frenchman Gregoire Marche and Egypt's Youssef Soliman make up the rest of the top eight seeds, who will all receive a bye through the opening round of action at Houston Squash Club. The withdrawals of previously seeded players Diego Elias and Karim Abdel Gawad resulted in a reshuffle to the draw.

There will be three home hopes in action for the first tournament of the year, with, Todd Harrity, Shahjahan Khan and Faraz Khan in the draw. Harrity will face Egypt’s Mohamed ElSherbini on the opening day, while US No.1 Shahjahan will do battle with France's Lucas Serme. Faraz will play Nicolas Mueller of Switzerland.

[1] Ali Farag (EGY) [Bye]
Sebastien Bonmalais (FRA) v [9/16] Raphael Kandra (GER)
[9/16] Youssef Soliman (EGY) v Nathan Lake (ENG)
[8] Youssef Ibrahim [Bye]
[5] Miguel Rodriguez (COL) [Bye]
Todd Harrity (USA) v [9/16] Mohamed ElSherbini (EGY)
[9/16] Youssef Ibrahim (EGY) v Dimitri Steinmann (SUI)
[3] Mostafa Asal (EGY) [Bye]
[4] Marwan ElShorbagy (EGY) [Bye]
[WC] Nasir Iqbal (PAK) v [9/16] Cesar Salazar (MEX)
[9/16] Nicolas Mueller (SUI) v Faraz Khan (USA)
[6] Mazen Hesham (EGY) [Bye]
[7] Gregoire Marche (FRA) [Bye]
Bernat Jaume (ESP) v [9/16] Omar Mosaad (EGY)
[9/16] Lucas Serme (FRA) v Shahjahan Khan (USA)
[2] Mohamed ElShorbagy (EGY) [Bye]

Join SQUASHTV and get closer to the PSA World Tour